Health, Physical Education, and Recreation: Books

This encyclopedia contains a comprehensive alphabetical guide for more than 2,000 entries on the full array of topics related to sports health including training, nutrition, psychology, injuries, illness, prevention, and alternative therapies. Clearly illustrated with photos and clear anatomical line drawings, this book has jargon-free explanations for thousands of questions about the health- and fitness-related aspects of exercise and sports. For those who have suffered a sports injury, have children involved in sports, are studying physical education, or just want to know about health-improving exercises, this is an invaluable reference guide.

CHOICE Outstanding Academic Title for 2009"This ground-breaking resource is strongly recommended for all libraries and health and welfare institutional depots; essential for university collections, especially those catering to social studies programs."--Library Journal, STARRED ReviewChildren and adults spend a great deal of time in activities we think of as "play," including games, sports, and hobbies. Without thinking about it very deeply, almost everyone would agree that such activities are fun, relaxing, and entertaining. However, play has many purposes that run much deeper than simple entertainment. For children, play has various functions such as competition, following rules, accepting defeat, choosing leaders, exercising leadership, practicing adult roles, and taking risks in order to reap rewards. For adults, many games and sports serve as harmless releases of feelings of aggression, competition, and intergroup hostility. The Encyclopedia of Play in Today′s Society explores the concept of play in history and modern society in the United States and internationally. Its scope encompasses leisure and recreational activities of children and adults throughout the ages, from dice games in the Roman Empire to video games today. With more than 450 entries, these two volumes do not include coverage of professional sports and sport teams but, instead, cover the hundreds of games played not to earn a living but as informal activity. All aspects of play--from learning to competition, mastery of nature, socialization, and cooperation--are included. Simply enough, this Encyclopedia explores play played for the fun of it! Key Features Available in both print and electronic formats Provides access to the fascinating literature that has explored questions of psychology, learning theory, game theory, and history in depth Considers the affects of play on child and adult development, particularly on health, creativity, and imagination Contains entries that describe both adult and childhood play and games in dozens of cultures around the world and throughout history Explores the sophisticated analyses of social thinkers such as Huizinga, Vygotsky, and Sutton-Smith, as well as the wide variety of games, toys, sports, and entertainments found around the world Presents cultures as diverse as the ancient Middle East, modern Russia, and China and in nations as far flung as India, Argentina, and France Key Themes Adult Games Board and Card Games Children′s Games History of Play Outdoor Games and Amateur Sports Play and Education Play Around the World Psychology of Play Sociology of Play Toys and Business Video and Online Games For a subject we mostly consider light-hearted, play as a research topic has generated an extensive and sophisticated literature, exploring a range of penetrating questions. This two-volume set serves as a general, nontechnical resource for academics, researchers, and students alike. It is an essential addition to any academic library.

This one-of-a-kind Encyclopedia presents physics in a refreshing new way -- by emphasizing the sports and not the science! Without the intimidating jargon, scientific information is cleverly interwoven with sports facts and stories. This balance between technical scientific information and interesting sports references makes the Encyclopedia accessible to readers of all types.

There is currently no comprehensive reference work bringing both sports management and sports marketing all together in one place. This encyclopedia is designed to fill this gap in the literature. On the management side, it introduces principles and procedures of economics, budgeting and finance, leadership, governance, communication, business law and ethics, and human resource practices, all in the sports context. On the marketing side it explores two broad streams: marketing of sport and sport-related products and using sport as a platform for marketing non-sports products, as seen in celebrity endorsements of a particular brand of watch or the corporate sponsorship of a tennis tournament.

From alpine skiing to wrestling, and all sports in between, The Sports Rules Book is an all-inclusive resource covering 54 sports. Quickly glean information on each sport's origin and history, basic procedures, terminology, equipment, competitive playing areas, scoring systems, player positions and primary features, common rule violations and their consequences, and, where applicable, officials' signals. The Sports Rules Book is your guide to understanding all the athletic activities we compete in and enjoy.

This new addition to The 5-Minute Consult Series is a clinically oriented quick consult reference for sports medicine. For the first time, common sports-related problems faced by primary care practitioners are thoroughly and concisely presented in the famous fast-access 5-Minute Consult format.Chapters on musculoskeletal problems cover basics; diagnosis; acute treatment, including on-field management; long-term treatment, including rehabilitation and referrals; and commonly asked questions. Other chapters address the special populations of children, adolescents, females, geriatric athletes, and disabled athletes and general medical problems in athletic individuals. Appendices include clinical care algorithms, a guide to the preparticipation examination, and patient education handouts.

"Sports Injuries Sourcebook, Third Edition, describes the most common types of sports injuries, including overtraining injuries, heat-related illness, spinal injuries, and traumatic injuries to the head, face, arms, hands, legs, and feet. Facts about protective equipment, proper nutrition for athletes, sports supplements, and steroids are also included, along with updates about diagnostic procedures, treatment options, and rehabilitation techniques. The book concludes with a glossary of related terms and a directory of additional resources for further help and information."--BOOK JACKET.

Every day, newspapers and television news programs present stories on the latest controversies over healthcare and medical advances, but they do not have the space to provide detailed background on the issues. Websites and weblogs provide information from activists and partisans intent on presenting their side of a story. But where can students - or even ordinary citizens - go to obtain unbiased, detailed background on the medical issues affecting their daily lives? This volume in the Health and Medical Issues Today series provides readers and researchers a balanced, in-depth introduction to the medical, scientific, legal, and cultural issues surrounding sports medicine and its import in today's world of healthcare. This volume in the Health and Medical Issues Today series provides everything a student requires to understand the issues involved in sports medicine and provides a springboard for further research into the issue Sports Medicine is organized to provide researchers with easy access to the information they need: Section 1 provides overview chapters on the background information needed to intelligently understand the issues and controversies surrounding sports medicine, such as the history of sports medicine and the most common injuries and syndromes. Section 2 offers capsule examinations of the contemporary issues and debates that provoke the most heated disagreements and misunderstandings in the scientific, legal, and ethical issues surrounding sports medicine, such as doping. Section 3 includes reference material on stem cells, including primary source documents from important players in the struggle over sports medicine, a timeline of important events, and an annotated bibliography of useful print and electronic resources.