LibGuides: Diversity, Equity, and Inclusive Resources: Allyship

Need Help?

Click the link below to understand how to better search the library's catalog.

Catalog Search Tips

Selected Books from the Catalog

Biased by Jennifer L. Eberhardt "Poignant....important and illuminating."--The New York Times Book Review "Groundbreaking."--Bryan Stevenson, New York Times bestselling author of Just Mercy From one of the world's leading experts on unconscious racial bias come stories, science, and strategies to address one of the central controversies of our time How do we talk about bias? How do we address racial disparities and inequities? What role do our institutions play in creating, maintaining, and magnifying those inequities? What role do we play? With a perspective that is at once scientific, investigative, and informed by personal experience, Dr. Jennifer Eberhardt offers us the language and courage we need to face one of the biggest and most troubling issues of our time. She exposes racial bias at all levels of society--in our neighborhoods, schools, workplaces, and criminal justice system. Yet she also offers us tools to address it. Eberhardt shows us how we can be vulnerable to bias but not doomed to live under its grip. Racial bias is a problem that we all have a role to play in solving.
Call Number: BF575.P9 E34 2019
ISBN: 9780735224933
Publication Date: 2019
Blindspot by Mahzarin R. Banaji; Anthony G. Greenwald "Accessible and authoritative . . . While we may not have much power to eradicate our own prejudices, we can counteract them. The first step is to turn a hidden bias into a visible one. . . . What if we're not the magnanimous people we think we are?"--The Washington Post I know my own mind. I am able to assess others in a fair and accurate way. These self-perceptions are challenged by leading psychologists Mahzarin R. Banaji and Anthony G. Greenwald as they explore the hidden biases we all carry from a lifetime of exposure to cultural attitudes about age, gender, race, ethnicity, religion, social class, sexuality, disability status, and nationality. "Blindspot" is the authors' metaphor for the portion of the mind that houses hidden biases. Writing with simplicity and verve, Banaji and Greenwald question the extent to which our perceptions of social groups--without our awareness or conscious control--shape our likes and dislikes and our judgments about people's character, abilities, and potential. In Blindspot, the authors reveal hidden biases based on their experience with the Implicit Association Test, a method that has revolutionized the way scientists learn about the human mind and that gives us a glimpse into what lies within the metaphoric blindspot. The title's "good people" are those of us who strive to align our behavior with our intentions. The aim of Blindspot is to explain the science in plain enough language to help well-intentioned people achieve that alignment. By gaining awareness, we can adapt beliefs and behavior and "outsmart the machine" in our heads so we can be fairer to those around us. Venturing into this book is an invitation to understand our own minds. Brilliant, authoritative, and utterly accessible, Blindspot is a book that will challenge and change readers for years to come. Praise for Blindspot "Conversational . . . easy to read, and best of all, it has the potential, at least, to change the way you think about yourself."--Leonard Mlodinow, The New York Review of Books "Banaji and Greenwald deserve a major award for writing such a lively and engaging book that conveys an important message: Mental processes that we are not aware of can affect what we think and what we do. Blindspot is one of the most illuminating books ever written on this topic."--Elizabeth F. Loftus, Ph.D., distinguished professor, University of California, Irvine; past president, Association for Psychological Science; author of Eyewitness Testimony
Call Number: BF575.P9 B25 2013
ISBN: 9780553804645
Publication Date: 2013
Culturally Responsive Teaching and Reflection in Higher Education by Sharlene Cochrane; Marjorie Jones; Meenakshi Chhabra; Deborah T. Spragg Culturally Responsive Teaching and Reflection in Higher Education explores how postsecondary educators can develop their own cultural awareness and provide inclusive learning environments for all students. Discussing best practices from the Cultural Literacy Curriculum Institute at Lesley University, faculty and administrators who are committed to culturally responsive teaching reflect on how to create an inclusive environment and how educators can cultivate the skills, attitudes, and knowledge necessary for implementing culturally responsive curriculum and pedagogy. Rather than a list of "right answers," essays in this important resource integrate discussion and individual reflection to support educators to enhance skills for responding effectively to racial, cultural, and social difference in their personal and professional contexts. This book is as an excellent starting point or further enrichment resource to accompany program or institutional diversity and inclusion efforts.
Call Number: LB2331 .C84 2017
ISBN: 9781138240544
Publication Date: 2017
More Than a Mentoring Program by Graig M. Meyer; George W. Noblit In striving to reduce racial achievement gaps, schools and youth development programs are increasingly turning to youth mentoring programs. But how to ensure success? Here, accomplished educators Graig Meyer and George Noblit reveal how one such program challenged institutional racism and eliminated persistent achievement disparities in a local school system that boasts a national reputation for excellence. The authors share personal lessons, strategic guidance, and detailed practical advice for education and community leaders seeking to create successful youth mentoring programs. Their story, backed by research, offers real-world perspective on the important work of challenging systemic racism in schools. Meyer and Noblit demonstrate how mentoring and advocacy come together in a strengths-based program that boosts academic success and post-secondary enrollment for youth of color, while also creating change to benefit all students in a school system.
Call Number: LC2802.N8 M49 2018
ISBN: 9781641132497
Publication Date: 2018

Articles

Supporting the Transgender People in Your Life: A Guide to Being a Good Ally
Guide created by the National Center for Transgender Equality

Instructional Resources Center Resources

Maybe Something Beautiful by F. Isabel Campoy; Theresa Howell; Rafael López (Illustrator) What good can a splash of color do in a community of gray? As Mira and her neighbors discover, more than you might ever imagine! Based on the true story of the Urban Art Trail in San Diego, California, Maybe Something Beautiful reveals how art can inspire transformation--and how even the smallest artists can accomplish something big. Pick up a paintbrush and join the celebration!  
Call Number: 307.14 C198m Juv
ISBN: 9780544357693
Publication Date: 2016
The Name Jar by Yangsook Choi (Illustrator) The new kid in school needs a new name! Or does she? Being the new kid in school is hard enough, but what about when nobody can pronounce your name? Having just moved from Korea, Unhei is anxious that American kids will like her. So instead of introducing herself on the first day of school, she tells the class that she will choose a name by the following week. Her new classmates are fascinated by this no-name girl and decide to help out by filling a glass jar with names for her to pick from. But while Unhei practices being a Suzy, Laura, or Amanda, one of her classmates comes to her neighborhood and discovers her real name and its special meaning. On the day of her name choosing, the name jar has mysteriously disappeared. Encouraged by her new friends, Unhei chooses her own Korean name and helps everyone pronounce it--"Yoon-Hey," "From the Hardcover edition."
Call Number: 813 C5459n Juv
ISBN: 9780375806131
Publication Date: 2001
Say Something! by Peter H. Reynolds (Illustrator) From the creator of the New York Times bestseller The Word Collector comes an empowering story about finding your voice, and using it to make the world a better place.A New York Times BestsellerThe world needs your voice. If you have a brilliant idea... say something! If you see an injustice... say something!In this empowering new picture book, beloved author Peter H. Reynolds explores the many ways that a single voice can make a difference. Each of us, each and every day, have the chance to say something: with our actions, our words, and our voices. Perfect for kid activists everywhere, this timely story reminds readers of the undeniable importance and power of their voice. There are so many ways to tell the world who you are... what you are thinking... and what you believe. And how you'll make it better. The time is now: SAY SOMETHING!"A motivational must-have for every collection." -- School Library Journal
Call Number: 361.2 R462s Juv
ISBN: 9780545865036
Publication Date: 2019

Google Scholar

Databases and Journals

Databases

Academic Search Premier
A popular resource found in many scholarly settings worldwide, Academic Search Premier is a leading multidisciplinary research database. It provides acclaimed full-text journals, magazines, and other valuable resources.

Gender Studies Databases
Gender Studies Database provides indexing and abstracts covering the full spectrum of gender-related scholarship. It offers over a million records from scholarly and popular publications, including journals, books, conference papers, and theses. Subjects include gender inequality, masculinity, post-feminism, and gender identity.

JSTOR
JSTOR provides access to more than 12 million academic journal articles, books, and primary sources in 75 disciplines within humanities, social sciences, and sciences.

Legal Collection
Containing full text for hundreds of the most respected scholarly law journals, Legal Collection is a valuable database of information on current issues, studies, thoughts, and trends of the legal world.

Newspaper Source
Newspaper Source provides cover-to-cover full text for hundreds of national (U.S.), international and regional newspapers. In addition, it offers television and radio news transcripts from major networks.

PsycINFO
Since 1967, APA PsycInfo^® has fostered the exchange of peer-reviewed research in digital format. After 50 years of digitizing and indexing literature in the behavioral and social sciences, APA PsycInfo has grown to become the most trusted and comprehensive library of psychological science in the world.

Race Relations Abstract
An essential resource for ethnic and racial studies, this database includes abstracting for the top academic journals, books, periodicals and newspapers related to the field

Electronic Journals

The Electronic Journals include:

Gender-Related Journals

Political Science Journals

Race Related Journals

Social Sciences and Humanities Journals

Sociology Journals

Women's Studies and Feminism Journals

Useful Websites

8 Ways To Be a (Better) Ally
How to be an ally has become an increasingly popular discussion this year, and an important one at that, but many are confused about what exactly it means to be an ally. This list is by no means comprehensive. Rather, think of this list as a jumping off point to begin your journey into better understanding your role as an ally to Black, Indigenous, people of color (BIPOC) and other marginalized communities. Written by Cecelia Kersten ’23, S.I. Newhouse School of Public Communications, Syracuse University.
Allies and Microaggressions
When you see microaggressions occurring against colleagues, how should you respond? Kerry Ann Rockquemore offers guidance.
Be a Better Ally
By Tsedale M. Melaku, Angie Beeman, David G. Smith, and W. Brad Johnson. Published in the Harvard Business Review.
Be a Better Ally With These Clever Responses to Microaggressions
Five simple actions to create a more inclusive workplace and be a better ally.
Being a Good Ally Takes More than Good Intentions
Human Rights Campaign
For Our White Friends Desiring to Be Allies
The link to the article is provided by the Center for Social Impact Strategy, University of Pennsylvania.
Guide to Allyship
An open-source starter guide to help you become a more thoughtful and effective ally.
How to Be an Ally
Any educator can become an ally, but the journey might look different depending on one’s identity, experience and familiarity with issues of power and privilege. This website includes a learning plan.
Straight for Equality
Straight for Equality is a national outreach and education program created in 2007 by PFLAG National to empower new allies who, unlike a more traditional PFLAG member, don’t necessarily have a family connection to the lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, and queer (LGBTQ+) community.

Podcasts / Videos

9 TED Talks That Will Make You a Better Ally
Thoughts on advocacy, accommodation, bias, intersectionality, and more by Cara Hutto, published on inhersight.com.
Active Allyship...it's more than a #hashtag!
Active Allyship... it’s more than a #hashtag! Now is the time for honest, unfiltered conversation. For authentic voices and their stories. And for connection. Join Sunni and Lisa as they confront the moment head-on with a podcast that’s as substantive, passionate, and as real as the lives behind the headlines."Active Allyship… it’s more than a #hashtag!" goes beyond the likes, the retweets, and the hashtags, making space for the vital dialogue necessary for racial justice. Allyship calls for self-reflection, support for other perspectives, and hearing other voices.
LEADING WITH EMPATHY & ALLYSHIP SHOW
Join us weekly to learn how to be a better ally and advocate, and lead with empathy. Come meet a new thought leader each week for a deep and real conversation about how we can be better allies and advocates – in our workplaces and communities. Each discussion will focus on building empathy and learning tangible, actionable steps we can all take to improve diversity, equity and inclusion.