LibGuides: Diversity, Equity, and Inclusive Resources: Gender Studies

Need Help?

Click the link below to understand how to better search the library's catalog.

Catalog Search Tips

Need a Book?

If you need a book, search our online catalog.

Tip: Use "Subject" searching to find more relevant resources.

If you are browsing for a book, use the call numbers below as a guide.

CALL NUMBER	SUBJECT
BF 692.2+	Gender Identity (Psychology)
HQ 18.5	Gender Identity (General)
HQ 77.7+	Transgenderism
HQ 1075+	Gender Identity (Social Aspect)
HQ 1180+	Women's studies
HQ 1236	Women's rights

Selected Reference Books from the Catalog

Feminist Writings from Ancient Times to the Modern World by Tiffany K. Wayne (Editor) Collecting more than 200 sources in the global history of feminism, this anthology supplies an insightful record of the resistance to patriarchy throughout human history and around the world. From writings by Enheduana in ancient Mesopotamia (2350 BCE) to the present-day manifesto of the Association of Women for Action and Research in Singapore, Feminist Writings from Ancient Times to the Modern World: A Global Sourcebook and History excerpts more than 200 feminist primary source documents from Africa to the Americas to Australia. Serving to depict "feminism" as much broader--and older--than simply the modern struggle for political rights and equality, this two-volume work provides a more comprehensive and varied record of women's resistance cross-culturally and throughout history. The author's goal is to showcase a wide range of writers, thinkers, and organizations in order to document how resistance to patriarchy has been at the center of social, political, and intellectual history since the infancy of human civilization. This work addresses feminist ideas expressed privately through poetry, letters, and autobiographies, as well as the public and political aspects of women's rights movements. More than 200 chronologically arranged entries on feminist writers, thinkers, and organizations across 4,000 years of human history Contributions from more than 100 international scholars, including historians, sociologists, literary, cultural theorists, religious scholars, writers, and activists Brief bibliographies of further readings, websites, and other relevant resources with each entry Lists of entries arranged by region as well as by broad topic, in addition to a comprehensive index
Call Number: PN56.F46 F47 2011 Ref v.2
ISBN: 9780313345807
Publication Date: 2011
The SAGE Encyclopedia of LGBTQ Studies by Abbie Goldberg (Editor) This far-reaching and contemporary new Encyclopedia examines and explores the lives and experiences of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender and Queer (LGBTQ) individuals, focusing on the contexts and forces that shape their lives. The work focuses on LGBTQ issues and identity primarily through the lenses of psychology, human development and sociology, emphasizing queer, feminist and ecological perspectives on the topic, and addresses questions such as:   ·         What are the key theories used to understand variations in sexual orientation and gender identity? ·         How do Gay-Straight Alliances (GSA) affect LGBTQ youth? ·         How do LGBTQ people experience the transition to parenthood? ·         How does sexual orientation intersect with other key social locations, such as race, to shape experience and identity? ·         What are the effects of marriage equality on sexual minority individuals and couples?   Top researchers and clinicians contribute to the 400 signed entries, from fields such as:   ·         Psychology ·         Human Development ·         Gender/Queer Studies ·         Sexuality Studies ·         Social Work ·         Sociology   The SAGE Encyclopedia of LGBTQ Studies is an essential resource for researchers interested in an interdisciplinary perspective on LGBTQ lives and issues.
Call Number: HQ75.15 .S24 2016 Ref v.1
ISBN: 9781483371306
Publication Date: 2016

Selected Books from the Catalog

Between You and Me by Mary Norris Mary Norris has spent more than three decades in The New Yorker's copy department, maintaining its celebrated high standards. Now she brings her vast experience, good cheer, and finely sharpened pencils to help the rest of us in a boisterous language book as full of life as it is of practical advice.Between You & Me features Norris's laugh-out-loud descriptions of some of the most common and vexing problems in spelling, punctuation, and usage--comma faults, danglers, "who" vs. "whom," "that" vs. "which," compound words, gender-neutral language--and her clear explanations of how to handle them. Down-to-earth and always open-minded, she draws on examples from Charles Dickens, Emily Dickinson, Henry James, and the Lord's Prayer, as well as from The Honeymooners, The Simpsons, David Foster Wallace, and Gillian Flynn. She takes us to see a copy of Noah Webster's groundbreaking Blue-Back Speller, on a quest to find out who put the hyphen in Moby-Dick, on a pilgrimage to the world's only pencil-sharpener museum, and inside the hallowed halls of The New Yorker and her work with such celebrated writers as Pauline Kael, Philip Roth, and George Saunders.Readers--and writers--will find in Norris neither a scold nor a softie but a wise and witty new friend in love with language and alive to the glories of its use in America, even in the age of autocorrect and spell-check. As Norris writes, "The dictionary is a wonderful thing, but you can't let it push you around."
Call Number: PE1450 .N67 2015
ISBN: 9780393240184
Publication Date: 2015
A Black Women's History of the United States by Daina Ramey Berry; Kali Nicole Gross A vibrant and empowering history that emphasizes the perspectives and stories of African American women to show how they are--and have always been--instrumental in shaping our country In centering Black women's stories, two award-winning historians seek both to empower African American women and to show their allies that Black women's unique ability to make their own communities while combatting centuries of oppression is an essential component in our continued resistance to systemic racism and sexism. Daina Ramey Berry and Kali Nicole Gross offer an examination and celebration of Black womanhood, beginning with the first African women who arrived in what became the United States to African American women of today. A Black Women's History of the United States reaches far beyond a single narrative to showcase Black women's lives in all their fraught complexities. Berry and Gross prioritize many voices- enslaved women, freedwomen, religious leaders, artists, queer women, activists, and women who lived outside the law. The result is a starting point for exploring Black women's history and a testament to the beauty, richness, rhythm, tragedy, heartbreak, rage, and enduring love that abounds in the spirit of Black women in communities throughout the nation.
Call Number: E185.86 .B475 2020
ISBN: 9780807033555
Publication Date: 2020
Counseling the Culturally Diverse by Derald Wing Sue; David Sue; Helen A. Neville; Laura Smith A brand new, fully updated edition of the most widely-used, frequently-cited, and critically acclaimed multicultural text in the mental health field This fully revised, 8th edition of the market-leading textbook on multicultural counseling comprehensively covers the most recent research and theoretical formulations that introduce and analyze emerging important multicultural topical developments. It examines the concept of "cultural humility" as part of the major characteristics of cultural competence in counselor education and practice; roles of white allies in multicultural counseling and in social justice counseling; and the concept of "minority stress" and its implications in work with marginalized populations. The book also reviews and introduces the most recent research on LGBTQ issues, and looks at major research developments in the manifestation, dynamics, and impact of microaggressions. Chapters in Counseling the Culturally Diverse, 8th Edition have been rewritten so that instructors can use them sequentially or in any order that best suits their course goals. Each begins with an outline of objectives, followed by a real life counseling case vignette, narrative, or contemporary incident that introduces the major themes of the chapter. In-depth discussions of the theory, research, and practice in multicultural counseling follow.  Completely updated with all new research, critical incidents, and case examples Chapters feature an integrative section on "Implications for Clinical Practice," ending "Summary," and numerous "Reflection and Discussion Questions" Presented in a Vital Source Enhanced format that contains chapter-correlated counseling videos/analysis of cross-racial dyads to facilitate teaching and learning Supplemented with an instructor's website that offers a power point deck, exam questions, sample syllabi, and links to other learning resources Written with two new coauthors who bring fresh and first-hand innovative approaches to CCD Counseling the Culturally Diverse, 8th Edition is appropriate for scholars and practitioners who work in the mental health field related to race, ethnicity, culture, and other sociodemographic variables. It is also relevant to social workers and psychiatrists, and for graduate courses in counseling and clinical psychology related to working with culturally diverse populations. 
Call Number: BF636.7.C76 S85 2019
ISBN: 9781119448242
Publication Date: 2019
Divided We Stand by Marjorie J. Spruill The fascinating true story of the characters in Hulu's "Mrs. America" and a broader portrait of the two women's movements that spurred an enduring rift between liberals and conservatives. "The many admirers of 'Mrs. America' . . . will find great satisfaction in (Divided We Stand) . . . a clear, compelling and deeply insightful volume." The Washington Post One of Smithsonian Magazine's Ten Best History Books of the Year In the early 1970s, an ascendant women's rights movement enjoyed strong support from both political parties and considerable success, but was soon challenged by a conservative women's movement formed in opposition. Tensions between the two would explode in 1977 at the congressionally funded National Women's Conference in Houston, Texas. As Bella Abzug, Gloria Steinem, and other feminists endorsed hot-button issues such as abortion rights, the ERA, and gay rights, Phyllis Schlafly and Lottie Beth Hobbs rallied with conservative women to protest federally funded feminism and launch a pro-family movement. Divided We Stand reveals how crucial women and women's issues have been in the shaping of today's political culture. After the National Women's Conference, Democrats continued to back women's rights in cooperation with a more diverse feminist movement while the GOP abandoned its previous support for women's rights and defined itself as the party of family values, irrevocably affecting the course of American politics.
Call Number: HQ1421 .S683 2018
ISBN: 9781632863164
Publication Date: 2018
Free Women, Free Men by Camille Paglia From the fiery intellectual provocateur-- and one of our most fearless advocates of gender equality--a brilliant, urgent essay collection that both celebrates modern feminism and challenges us to build an alliance of strong women and strong men.  Ever since the release of her seminal first book, Sexual Personae, Camille Paglia has remained one of feminism's most outspoken, independent, and searingly intelligent voices. Now, for the first time, her best essays on the subject are gathered together in one concise volume. Whether she's calling for equal opportunity for American women (years before the founding of the National Organization for Women), championing a more discerning standard of beauty that goes beyond plastic surgery's quest for eternal youth, lauding the liberating force of rock and roll, or demanding free and unfettered speech on university campuses and beyond, Paglia can always be counted on to get to the heart of matters large and small. At once illuminating, witty, and inspiring, these essays are essential reading that affirm the power of men and women and what we can accomplish together.
Call Number: HQ1155 .P34 2017
ISBN: 9780375424779
Publication Date: 2017
A Queer History of the United States by Michael Bronski Winner of a 2012 Stonewall Book Award in nonfiction The first book to cover the entirety of lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender history, from pre-1492 to the present. In the 1620s, Thomas Morton broke from Plymouth Colony and founded Merrymount, which celebrated same-sex desire, atheism, and interracial marriage. Transgender evangelist Jemima Wilkinson, in the early 1800s, changed her name to "Publick Universal Friend," refused to use pronouns, fought for gender equality, and led her own congregation in upstate New York. In the mid-nineteenth century, internationally famous Shakespearean actor Charlotte Cushman led an openly lesbian life, including a well-publicized "female marriage." And in the late 1920s, Augustus Granville Dill was fired by W. E. B. Du Bois from the NAACP's magazine the Crisis after being arrested for a homosexual encounter. These are just a few moments of queer history that Michael Bronski highlights in this groundbreaking book. Intellectually dynamic and endlessly provocative, A Queer History of the United States is more than a "who's who" of queer history: it is a book that radically challenges how we understand American history. Drawing upon primary documents, literature, and cultural histories, noted scholar and activist Michael Bronski charts the breadth of lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender history, from 1492 to the 1990s, and has written a testament to how the LGBT experience has profoundly shaped our country, culture, and history. A Queer History of the United States abounds with startling examples of unknown or often ignored aspects of American history--the ineffectiveness of sodomy laws in the colonies, the prevalence of cross-dressing women soldiers in the Civil War, the impact of new technologies on LGBT life in the nineteenth century, and how rock music and popular culture were, in large part, responsible for the devastating backlash against gay rights in the late 1970s. Most striking, Bronski documents how, over centuries, various incarnations of social purity movements have consistently attempted to regulate all sexuality, including fantasies, masturbation, and queer sex. Resisting these efforts, same-sex desire flourished and helped make America what it is today. At heart, A Queer History of the United States is simply about American history. It is a book that will matter both to LGBT people and heterosexuals. This engrossing and revelatory history will make readers appreciate just how queer America really is.
Call Number: HQ76.3.U5 B696 2011
ISBN: 9780807044391
Publication Date: 2011
Realizing Our Place by Catherine Egley Waggoner; Laura Egley Taylor What does it mean to be from somewhere? Does place seep into one's very being like roots making their way through rich soil, shaping a sense of self? In particular, what does it mean to be from a place with a storied past, one mythologized as the very best and worst of our nation? Such questions inspired Catherine Egley Waggoner and Laura Egley Taylor, sisters and Delta expatriates themselves, to embark on a trail of conversations through the Mississippi Delta. Meeting in evocative settings from kitchens and beauty parlors to screened-in porches with fifty-one women--black, Chinese, Lebanese, and white; elderly and young; rich and poor; bisexual and straight--the authors trace the extent to which the historical dimensions of southern womanhood like submissiveness, purity, piety, and domesticity are visible in contemporary Delta women's everyday enactments. Waggoner and Taylor argue that these women do not simply embrace or reject such dimensions, but instead creatively tweak stereotypes in such a way that skillfully legitimizes their authenticity. Blending academic analysis with colorful excerpts of Delta women's words and including over one hundred striking photographs, Waggoner and Taylor provide an insightful peek into the lives of real southern women living in a deeply mythologized land.
Call Number: HQ1438.A13 W34 2018 CIRC
ISBN: 9781496817587
Publication Date: 2018
Shakesqueer by Madhavi Menon (Editor) Shakesqueer puts the most exciting queer theorists in conversation with the complete works of William Shakespeare. Exploring what is odd, eccentric, and unexpected in the Bard's plays and poems, these theorists highlight not only the many ways that Shakespeare can be queered but also the many ways that Shakespeare can enrich queer theory. This innovative anthology reveals an early modern playwright insistently returning to questions of language, identity, and temporality, themes central to contemporary queer theory. Since many of the contributors do not study early modern literature, Shakesqueer takes queer theory back and brings Shakespeare forward, challenging the chronological confinement of queer theory to the last two hundred years. The book also challenges conceptual certainties that have narrowly equated queerness with homosexuality. Chasing all manner of stray desires through every one of Shakespeare's plays and poems, the contributors cross temporal, animal, theoretical, and sexual boundaries with abandon. Claiming adherence to no one school of thought, the essays consider The Winter's Tale alongside network TV, Hamlet in relation to the death drive, King John as a history of queer theory, and Much Ado About Nothing in tune with a Sondheim musical. Together they expand the reach of queerness and queer critique across chronologies, methodologies, and bodies. Contributors. Matt Bell, Amanda Berry, Daniel Boyarin, Judith Brown, Steven Bruhm, Peter Coviello, Julie Crawford, Drew Daniel, Mario DiGangi, Lee Edelman, Jason Edwards, Aranye Fradenburg, Carla Freccero, Daniel Juan Gil, Jonathan Goldberg, Jody Greene, Stephen Guy-Bray, Ellis Hanson, Sharon Holland, Cary Howie, Lynne Huffer, Barbara Johnson, Hector Kollias, James Kuzner , Arthur L. Little Jr., Philip Lorenz, Heather Love, Jeffrey Masten, Robert McRuer , Madhavi Menon, Michael Moon, Paul Morrison, Andrew Nicholls, Kevin Ohi, Patrick R. O'Malley, Ann Pellegrini, Richard Rambuss, Valerie Rohy, Bethany Schneider, Kathryn Schwarz, Laurie Shannon, Ashley T. Shelden, Alan Sinfield, Bruce Smith, Karl Steel, Kathryn Bond Stockton, Amy Villarejo, Julian Yates
Call Number: PR2976 .S346 2011
ISBN: 9780822348337
Publication Date: 2011
Women, Work, and Family by Michele A. Paludi (Editor) A sweeping collection of new essays gathers historical background, theoretical perspectives, and the latest research on integrating work and personal life in a multigenerational workforce. A half-century after the women's movement of the 1960s, women still have not achieved equality in the workplace, in part because the burdens of family still fall largely upon their shoulders. This in-depth review examines legislation, social-science research, and human resources management practices dealing with women's integration of work and life roles. It explores the context and theory that explain new workplace trends and realities, and it offers practical recommendations on how women and companies can cope. The book is based on the premise that to attract and retain top talent and be competitive in the 21st century, employers must redesign their organizations to meet the needs of employees. A sort of "paper mentor" for women, it spells out the myths and realities of combining employment with motherhood and a committed relationship. The expert essays are also a guide for corporations, intended to help them understand the necessity of easing women's burdens_and nurturing their talent_through attention to work hours and to policies that can facilitate the integration of work and life roles. Provides insights into 21st-century work/life integration and multigenerational workforce issues and trends Discusses organizational responses to these trends and offers strategies employers can use to help female employees integrate work and life responsibilities Shares best practices from human resource specialists, labor attorneys, and employers for meeting the demands of the 21st-century workforce Identifies organizations that will assist women in integrating work and family roles Includes first-person accounts by women_managers and non-managers_of workplace strategies that have proven effective for them
Call Number: HD6053 .W6455 2014
ISBN: 9781440803093
Publication Date: 2014
Women of Will by Tina Packer From one of the country's foremost experts on Shakespeare and theatre arts, actor, director, and master teacher Tina Packer offers an exploration--fierce, funny, fearless--of the women of Shakespeare's plays. A profound, and profoundly illuminating, book that gives us the playwright's changing understanding of the feminine and reveals some of his deepest insights. Packer, with expert grasp and perception, constructs a radically different understanding of power, sexuality, and redemption. Beginning with the early comedies (The Taming of the Shrew, Two Gentlemen of Verona, The Comedy of Errors), Packer shows that Shakespeare wrote the women of these plays as shrews to be tamed or as sweet little things with no definable independent thought, virgins on the pedestal. The women of the histories (the three parts of Henry VI; Richard III) are, Packer shows, much more interesting, beginning with Joan of Arc, possibly the first woman character Shakespeare ever created. In her opening scene, she's wonderfully alive--a virgin, true, sent from heaven, a country girl going to lead men bravely into battle, the kind of girl Shakespeare could have known and loved in Stratford. Her independent resolution collapses within a few scenes, as Shakespeare himself suddenly turns against her, and she yields to the common caricature of his culture and becomes Joan the Enemy, the Warrior Woman, the witch; a woman to be feared and destroyed . . . As Packer turns her attention to the extraordinary Juliet, the author perceives a large shift. Suddenly Shakespeare's women have depth of character, motivation, understanding of life more than equal to that of the men; once Juliet has led the way, the plays are never the same again. As Shakespeare ceases to write about women as predictable caricatures and starts writing them from the inside, embodying their voices, his women become as dimensional, spirited, spiritual, active, and sexual as any of his male characters. Juliet is just as passionately in love as Romeo--risking everything, initiating marriage, getting into bed, fighting courageously when her parents threaten to disown her--and just as brave in facing death when she discovers Romeo is dead. And, wondering if Shakespeare himself fell in love (Packer considers with whom, and what she may have been like), the author observes that from Juliet on, Shakespeare writes the women as if he were a woman, giving them desires, needs, ambition, insight. Women of Will follows Shakespeare's development as a human being, from youth to enlightened maturity, exploring the spiritual journey he undertook. Packer shows that Shakespeare's imagination, mirrored and revealed in his female characters, develops and deepens until finally the women, his creative knowledge, and a sense of a larger spiritual good come together in the late plays, making clear that when women and men are equal in status and sexual passion, they can--and do--change the world. Part master class, part brilliant analysis--Women of Will is all inspiring discovery.
Call Number: PR2991 .P16 2015
ISBN: 9780307700391
Publication Date: 2015

Instructional Resources Center Resources

When Aidan Became a Brother by Kyle Lukoff; Kaylani Juanita (Illustrator) 2020 Stonewall Book Award White Raven 2020 Selection This sweet #ownvoices picture book celebrates the changes in a transgender boy's life, from his initial coming-out to becoming a big brother. When Aidan was born, everyone thought he was a girl. His parents gave him a pretty name, his room looked like a girl's room, and he wore clothes that other girls liked wearing. After he realized he was a trans boy, Aidan and his parents fixed the parts of life that didn't fit anymore, and he settled happily into his new life. Then Mom and Dad announce that they're going to have another baby, and Aidan wants to do everything he can to make things right for his new sibling from the beginning--from choosing the perfect name to creating a beautiful room to picking out the cutest onesie. But what does "making things right" actually mean? And what happens if he messes up? With a little help, Aidan comes to understand that mistakes can be fixed with honesty and communication, and that he already knows the most important thing about being a big brother: how to love with his whole self. When Aidan Became a Brother is a heartwarming book that will resonate with transgender children, reassure any child concerned about becoming an older sibling, and celebrate the many transitions a family can experience.
Call Number: 813 L954w Juv
ISBN: 9781620148372
Publication Date: 2019
Julián Is a Mermaid by Jessica Love (Illustrator) Winner of a 2019 Stonewall Book Award In an exuberant picture book, a glimpse of costumed mermaids leaves one boy flooded with wonder and ready to dazzle the world. While riding the subway home from the pool with his abuela one day, Julián notices three women spectacularly dressed up. Their hair billows in brilliant hues, their dresses end in fishtails, and their joy fills the train car. When Julián gets home, daydreaming of the magic he's seen, all he can think about is dressing up just like the ladies in his own fabulous mermaid costume: a butter-yellow curtain for his tail, the fronds of a potted fern for his headdress. But what will Abuela think about the mess he makes -- and even more importantly, what will she think about how Julián sees himself? Mesmerizing and full of heart, Jessica Love's author-illustrator debut is a jubilant picture of self-love and a radiant celebration of individuality.
Call Number: 813 L8968j Juv
ISBN: 9780763690458
Publication Date: 2018
George by Alex Gino BE WHO YOU ARE.When people look at George, they think they see a boy. But she knows she's not a boy. She knows she's a girl.George thinks she'll have to keep this a secret forever. Then her teacher announces that their class play is going to be Charlotte's Web. George really, really, REALLY wants to play Charlotte. But the teacher says she can't even try out for the part . . . because she's a boy. With the help of her best friend, Kelly, George comes up with a plan. Not just so she can be Charlotte -- but so everyone can know who she is, once and for all.
Call Number: 813 G4927ge Juv
ISBN: 9780545812542
Publication Date: 2015
Gender equity in education by Eileen Veronica Hilke Sex discrimination in education.
Call Number: 371.3 H644g
ISBN: 9780873673723

Google Scholar

Useful Websites

Because of Her Story
To create a more equitable and just American society, the Smithsonian American Women's History Initiative will create, disseminate, and amplify the historical record of the accomplishments of American women.
Black Women's Blueprint
Website committed to building movements where gender matters in broader social justice organizing so that all members of our communities gain social, political and economic equity. It engages in engage in progressive research, historical documentation, policy advocacy and organizing steeped in the struggles of Black women within their diverse communities and within dominant culture.
Center for Black Equity
To promote a multinational LGBTQ+ network dedicated to improving health and wellness opportunities, economic empowerment, and equal rights while promoting individual and collective work, responsibility, and self-determination.
Center for Race and Gender
The Center for Race & Gender (CRG) is an interdisciplinary research center that creates knowledge on critical intersections between race, gender, and social justice.
CLICK! The Ongoing Feminist Revolution
Click! In the 1970s that word signaled the moment when a woman awakened to the powerful ideas of contemporary feminism. Today “click” usually refers to a computer keystroke that connects women (and men) to powerful ideas on the Internet.
The website aims to bridge the gap between those two clicks by offering an exhibit that highlights the achievements of women from the 1940s to the present. This exhibit explores the power and complexity of gender consciousness in modern American life.
Crusade for the Vote
A comprehensive history of the U.S. woman's suffrage movement from it's 18th-century origins through the passage of the 19th amendment.
Emory's Women Writers Resource Project
The Emory Women Writers Resource Project is a collection of edited and unedited texts by women writing from the seventeenth century through the early twentieth century.
Excavating Black Queer Thought: A Pride Bibliography
Emerald Rutledge compiled a list of texts ranging from traditional academic works to cultural texts, like films and tv shows, that center Black queerness, illuminating the multiplicity of experiences that exist within Black LGBTQIA+ life and excavating histories of Black queer life and thought that have been intentionally excluded and overlooked.
Families First: GLBT Family Issues and Resources
Americal Library Association Choice LibGuides Bibliographic Essay
Gendered Innovations in Science, Health & Medicine, Engineering, and Environment
Standford University's Gendered Innovations employs methods of sex, gender, and intersectional analysis to create new knowledge.
Gender Studies: Foundations and Key Concepts
Gender studies developed alongside and emerged out of Women’s Studies. This non-exhaustive list introduces readers to scholarship in the field.
Her Hat Was in the Ring
This web site identifies women candidates for elective office in the late 19th and early 20th centuries, giving biographical information for each woman, information about her campaign, party affiliation, photographs,and lists of selected resources. We estimate that women ran in well over 7,000 campaigns by 1920.
Institute for Research on Women & Gender
Established in 1995, the Institute for Research on Women & Gender (IRWG) is an interdisciplinary unit of the University of Michigan Office of Research, supporting research on women, gender, and sexuality.
The International Center for Research on Women
Anchored in the principle of human dignity, the International Center for Research on Women advances gender equity, social inclusion and shared prosperity. 
Mississippi Coalition Against Domestic Violence
As a Coalition, we are collaborating with various groups and organizations to provide education and awareness. The use of social media and other media forums allows us to spread the word beyond the normal entities. These are key components of our awareness and outreach efforts. Getting the word out is vital, but education is even greater. MCADV is educating service providers (advocates), equipping them with the necessary tools and resources to empower individuals to move from victims to survivors.
Muslima: Muslim Women's Art & Voices
Online exhibition featuring the art, voices, and stories of Muslim women around the globe.
National Black Justice Coalition
The National Black Justice Coalition is American civil rights organization serving primarily lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender people.
National Center for Lesbian Rights
With a commitment to racial and economic justice and our community’s most vulnerable, NCLR is a leader at the forefront of advancing civil and human rights for LGBTQ individuals and their families through impact litigation, public policy, and public education.
National Center for Transgender Equality
The National Center for Transgender Equality advocates to change policies and society to increase understanding and acceptance of transgender people. In the nation’s capital and throughout the country, NCTE works to replace disrespect, discrimination, and violence with empathy, opportunity, and justice.
Women's Foundation of Mississippi
The Women’s Foundation Board of Directors demonstrates the character of the Foundation, itself. Inspired. Determined. Fearless. They have refused to accept the hand dealt to women in Mississippi. Each of these insightful and resourceful leaders has made a stand to create new solutions. Their collective strength, support and wisdom fuel our mission. Every day, our staff works with determination and compassion to foster real change. They work together with Mississippi’s politicians, schools and communities to ensure Mississippi’s women thrive.
Women: Online National Archival Collections
The struggle for women to gain acceptance, recognition and equal rights in society has been a long process. In recognition of the contributions of American women, Archives Library Information Center presents a listing of web sites relevant to women in the United States.
Women on the Move: Gender and Mobility in American Culture, 1890-1950
Newberry Library's Digital Collections for the Classroom.

eBooks

Click the icon below to search our eBook Collection.

Selected E-Books from the Catalog

Asian American Feminisms and Women of Color Politics by Lynn Fujiwara (Editor); Shireen Roshanravan (Editor); Piya Chatterjee (Series edited by) Asian American Feminisms and Women of Color Politics brings together groundbreaking essays that speak to the relationship between Asian American feminisms, feminist of color work, and transnational feminist scholarship. This collection, featuring work by both senior and rising scholars, considers topics including the politics of visibility, histories of Asian American participation in women of color political formations, accountability for Asian American "settler complicities" and cross-racial solidarities, and Asian American community-based strategies against state violence as shaped by and tied to women of color feminisms. Asian American Feminisms and Women of Color Politics provides a deep conceptual intervention into the theoretical underpinnings of Asian American studies; ethnic studies; women's, gender, and sexual studies; as well as cultural studies in general.
ISBN: 9780295744353
Publication Date: 2018
Black. Queer. Southern. Women by E. Patrick Johnson Drawn from the life narratives of more than seventy African American queer women who were born, raised, and continue to reside in the American South, this book powerfully reveals the way these women experience and express racial, sexual, gender, and class identities--all linked by a place where such identities have generally placed them on the margins of society. Using methods of oral history and performance ethnography, E. Patrick Johnson's work vividly enriches the historical record of racialized sexual minorities in the South and brings to light the realities of the region's thriving black lesbian communities. At once transcendent and grounded in place and time, these narratives raise important questions about queer identity formation, community building, and power relations as they are negotiated within the context of southern history. Johnson uses individual stories to reveal the embedded political and cultural ideologies of the self but also of the listener and society as a whole. These breathtakingly rich life histories show afresh how black female sexuality is and always has been an integral part of the patchwork quilt that is southern culture.
ISBN: 9781469641096
Publication Date: 2018
Black Feminist Thought by Patricia Hill Collins; Patricia Hill Collins In spite of the double burden of racial and gender discrimination, African-American women have developed a rich intellectual tradition that is not widely known. In Black Feminist Thought, Patricia Hill Collins explores the words and ideas of Black feminist intellectuals as well as those African-American women outside academe. She provides an interpretive framework for the work of such prominent Black feminist thinkers as Angela Davis, bell hooks, Alice Walker, and Audre Lorde. The result is a superbly crafted book that provides the first synthetic overview of Black feminist thought.
Call Number: HQ1426 .C633 2000 eb
ISBN: 9780415924832
Publication Date: 1999
The Boy Crisis by Warren Farrell; John Gray What is the boy crisis?  It's a crisis of education. Worldwide, boys are 50 percent less likely than girls to meet basic proficiency in reading, math, and science.  It's a crisis of mental health. ADHD is on the rise. And as boys become young men, their suicide rates go from equal to girls to six times that of young women.  It's a crisis of fathering. Boys are growing up with less-involved fathers and are more likely to drop out of school, drink, do drugs, become delinquent, and end up in prison.  It's a crisis of purpose. Boys' old sense of purpose--being a warrior, a leader, or a sole breadwinner--are fading. Many bright boys are experiencing a "purpose void," feeling alienated, withdrawn, and addicted to immediate gratification. So, what is The Boy Crisis? A comprehensive blueprint for what parents, teachers, and policymakers can do to help our sons become happier, healthier men, and fathers and leaders worthy of our respect.
ISBN: 9781942952718
Publication Date: 2018
Feminism : Reinventing the F-Word by Nadia Abushanab Higgins While most people say they believe in equal rights, the word feminism--America's new F-word--makes people uncomfortable. Explore the history of US feminism through pioneers such as Elizabeth Cady Stanton, Betty Friedan, Shirley Chisholm, and Gloria Steinem. Meet modern leaders such as Rebecca Walker and Julie Zeilinger, who are striving to empower women at work, in government, at home--and in cultural and personal arenas. Learn from interviews with movement leaders, scholars, pop stars, and average women, what it means to be a feminist--or to reject it altogether. After reading this book, readers will be able to respond to "Am I a feminist?" with a confident, informed voice.
ISBN: 9781467761475
Publication Date: 2016
Gender Diversity in Indonesia by Sharyn Graham Davies Indonesia provides particularly interesting examples of gender diversity. Same-sex relations, transvestism and cross-gender behaviour have long been noted amongst a wide range of Indonesian peoples. This book explores the nature of gender diversity in Indonesia, and with the world's largest Muslim population, it examines Islam in this context. Based on extensive ethnographic research, it discusses in particular calalai - female-born individuals who identify as neither woman nor man; calabai - male-born individuals who also identify as neither man nor woman; and bissu - an order of shamans who embody female and male elements. The book examines the lives andnbsp;roles of these variously gendered subjectivities in everyday life, including in low-status and high-status ritual such as wedding ceremonies, fashion parades, cultural festivals, Islamic recitations and shamanistic rituals. The book analyses the place of such subjectivitiesnbsp;in relation to theories of gender, gender diversity and sexuality.
ISBN: 9780415375696
Publication Date: 2010
Inuit Stories of Being and Rebirth by Bernard Saladin d'Anglure; Peter Frost (Translator); Claude Lévi-Strauss (Foreword by) Ujarak, Iqallijuq, and Kupaaq were elders from the Inuit community on Igloolik Island in Nunavut. The three elders, among others, shared with Bernard Saladin d?Anglure the narratives which make up the heart of Inuit Stories of Being and Rebirth. Through their words, and historical sources recorded by Franz Boas and Knud Rasmussen, Saladin d?Anglure examines the Inuit notion of personhood and its relationship to cosmology and mythology.Central to these stories are womb memories, narratives of birth and reincarnation, and the concept of the third sex?an intermediate identity between male and female. As explained through first-person accounts and traditional legends, myths, and folk tales, the presence of transgender individuals informs Inuit relationships to one another and to the world at large, transcending the dualities of male and female, human and animal, human and spirit.This new English edition includes the 2006 preface by Claude Lévi-Strauss and an afterword by Bernard Saladin d?Anglure.
ISBN: 9780887558306
Publication Date: 2018
Marginalized Mothers, Mothering from the Margins by Tiffany Taylor (Editor); Katrina Bloch (Editor) This volume focuses on the ways in which mothers aremarginalized based on intersecting identities, such as immigration status,race, class, disability, sexuality, and how these women mother from the margins.Divided into three sections, this collection brings forth the voices andexperiences of mothers and highlights the institutions and laws thatmarginalize them.  In the first section, mothersface barriers such as institutional constraints that block them from neededresources and the ability to mother as they see fit.  In section two, contributors examine theborders of marginalized mothering - boundaries reflected through citizenship,walls, geography, dealings with intimate partners and welfare offices, or prisonbars. Readings in this section highlight mothers' efforts to transcend, resist,or even just survive experiences with borders. The final section centers on mothers that explicitly adopt motheringstrategies of resistance or explicitly use their status as mothers in theiractivism. Topics range from mothers who engage in milk sharing to mothers ofcolor whom organize against police brutality. Throughout the volume, contributors demonstrate the striking resilienceof these mothers, and their resistance in challenging the ideologies andinstitutions that marginalize them.
ISBN: 9781787564008
Publication Date: 2018
Queer Dickens by Holly Furneaux This book offers a radically new reading of Dickens and his major works. It demonstrates that, rather than representing a largely conventional, conservative view of sexuality and gender, he presents a distinctly queer corpus, everywhere fascinated by the diversity of gender roles, theexpandability of notions of the family, and the complex multiplicity of sexual desire. The book examines the long overlooked figures of bachelor fathers, maritally resistant men, and male nurses. It explores Dickens's attention to a longing, not to reproduce, but to nurture, his interest in healingtouch, and his articulation, over the course of his career, of homoerotic desire.Holly Furneaux places Dickens's writing in a broad literary and social context, alongside authors including Bulwer-Lytton, Tennyson, Braddon, Collins, and Whitman, to make a case for Dickens's central position in queer literary history. Examining novels, poetry, life-writing, journalism, and legaland political debates, Queer Dickens argues that this eminent Victorian can direct us to the ways in which his culture could, and did, comfortably accommodate homoeroticism and families of choice. Further, it contends that Dickens's portrayals of nurturing masculinity and his concern with touch andaffect between men challenge what we have been used to thinking about Victorian ideals of maleness.Queer Dickens intervenes in current debates about the Victorians (neither so punitive nor so prudish as we once imagined) and about the methodologies of the histories of the family and of sexuality. It makes the case for a more optimistic, nurturing, and life-affirming trajectory in queertheory.
ISBN: 9780199566099
Publication Date: 2010
Twenty-First Century Latin American Narrative and Postmodern Feminism by Gina Ponce de Leòn The authors of Twenty-First Century Latin American Narrative and Postmodern Feminism argue that, while the more traditional feminists of the 20th century did not recognize in their theoretical and literary work the diversity of women's experiences, current Latin American post-feminist and post-modern writers are proposing a transgressive new social order, resulting in a more significant cultural resistance to the society they represent. The authors included in this volume show that the narrative of the writers analyzed here is not limited to recognizing issues focused on gender or even sexuality, but also explores the female aspiration of a dignified life and overcoming the dominant structures in their social, political and cultural dimension.The complex female situation of this millennium has become the primary quandary while searching for new forms to represent women in literature. In Twenty-First Century Latin American Narrative and Postmodern Feminism, the authors confront this dilemma in a sharp, sophisticated and harmonious way, offering a critical text that will be of interest for both specialists and general readers interested in Latin American literature and culture of the recent years.
ISBN: 9781443853996
Publication Date: 2014

Databases

Academic Search Premier
A popular resource found in many scholarly settings worldwide, Academic Search Premier is a leading multidisciplinary research database. It provides acclaimed full-text journals, magazines, and other valuable resources.

Gender Studies Databases
Gender Studies Database provides indexing and abstracts covering the full spectrum of gender-related scholarship. It offers over a million records from scholarly and popular publications, including journals, books, conference papers, and theses. Subjects include gender inequality, masculinity, post-feminism, and gender identity.

JSTOR
JSTOR provides access to more than 12 million academic journal articles, books, and primary sources in 75 disciplines within humanities, social sciences, and sciences.

Legal Collection
Containing full text for hundreds of the most respected scholarly law journals, Legal Collection is a valuable database of information on current issues, studies, thoughts, and trends of the legal world.

Newspaper Source
Newspaper Source provides cover-to-cover full text for hundreds of national (U.S.), international and regional newspapers. In addition, it offers television and radio news transcripts from major networks.

PsycINFO
Since 1967, APA PsycInfo^® has fostered the exchange of peer-reviewed research in digital format. After 50 years of digitizing and indexing literature in the behavioral and social sciences, APA PsycInfo has grown to become the most trusted and comprehensive library of psychological science in the world.

Journals

The Electronic Journals include:

Gender Studies & Research

Journal of Gender Studies

Nineteenth-Century Gender Studies

Podcasts / Videos

The Feminist Presen‪t
The Feminist Present, the first podcast from the Clayman Institute for Gender Research at Stanford University. Hosts Adrian Daub and Laura Goode welcome a range of feminists from academia, journalism, activism and more.
Gender Jawn
Gender Jawn is a podcast about the politics, practices, performances, and pedagogies of gender & sexuality, sponsored by the Alice Paul Center for Research on Gender, Sexuality, and Women at the University of Pennsylvania. Each month we engage thinkers, creatives, organizers, and researchers to think through pressing questions in the field of gender & sexuality studies.
Gender & Society Podcasts
Gender & Society (GENDSOC) is a peer-reviewed journal, focused on the study of gender. It is the official journal of Sociologists for Women in Society, and was founded in 1987 as an outlet for feminist social science. Currently, it is a top-ranked journal in both sociology and women's studies.