"Microaggressions are defined as the everyday, subtle, intentional — and oftentimes unintentional — interactions or behaviors that communicate some sort of bias toward historically marginalized groups. The difference between microaggressions and overt discrimination or macroaggressions, is that people who commit microagressions might not even be aware of them. Someone commenting on how well an Asian American speaks English, which presumes the Asian American was not born here, is one example of a microaggression. Presuming that a black person is dangerous or violent is another example. A common experience that black men talk about is being followed around in stores or getting on an elevator and having people move away and grab their purses or their wallets."
- Kevin Nadal, a professor of psychology at John Jay College of Criminal Justice
Click the link below to understand how to better search the library's catalog.
Academic Search Premier
A popular resource found in many scholarly settings worldwide, Academic Search Premier is a leading multidisciplinary research database. It provides acclaimed full-text journals, magazines, and other valuable resources.
Gender Studies Databases
Gender Studies Database provides indexing and abstracts covering the full spectrum of gender-related scholarship. It offers over a million records from scholarly and popular publications, including journals, books, conference papers, and theses. Subjects include gender inequality, masculinity, post-feminism, and gender identity.
JSTOR provides access to more than 12 million academic journal articles, books, and primary sources in 75 disciplines within humanities, social sciences, and sciences.
Containing full text for hundreds of the most respected scholarly law journals, Legal Collection is a valuable database of information on current issues, studies, thoughts, and trends of the legal world.
Newspaper Source provides cover-to-cover full text for hundreds of national (U.S.), international and regional newspapers. In addition, it offers television and radio news transcripts from major networks.
Since 1967, APA PsycInfo® has fostered the exchange of peer-reviewed research in digital format. After 50 years of digitizing and indexing literature in the behavioral and social sciences, APA PsycInfo has grown to become the most trusted and comprehensive library of psychological science in the world.
Race Relations Abstract
An essential resource for ethnic and racial studies, this database includes abstracting for the top academic journals, books, periodicals and newspapers related to the field
The Electronic Journals include:
Political Science Journals
Race Related Journals
Social Sciences and Humanities Journals
Women's Studies and Feminism Journals