Please follow the links below to begin to discover what the library catalog has to offer.
Cases on Semantic Interoperability for Information Systems Integration by
Semantic interoperability provides the means to automatically process and integrate large amounts of information without human intervention.Cases on Semantic Interoperability for Information Systems Integration: Practices and Applications provides an in-depth analysis of issues involved with the application of semantic interoperability to information assimilation tasks followed by field professionals. This significant collection of research explains in-depth issues involved the integration of large amounts of heterogeneous information and points to deficiencies of current systems.
COVID-19 Pandemic, Geospatial Information, and Community Resilience by
"The Open Access version of this book, available at https://www.taylorfrancis.com/books/oa-edit/10.1201/9781003181590, has been made available under a Creative Commons Attribution-Non Commercial-No Derivatives 4.0 license." Geospatial information plays an important role in managing location dependent pandemic situations across different communities and domains. Geospatial information and technologies are particularly critical to strengthening urban and rural resilience, where economic, agricultural, and various social sectors all intersect. Examining the United Nations' SDGs from a geospatial lens will ensure that the challenges are addressed for all populations in different locations. This book, with worldwide contributions focused on COVID-19 pandemic, provides interdisciplinary analysis and multi-sectoral expertise on the use of geospatial information and location intelligence to support community resilience and authorities to manage pandemics.
GIS in Sustainable Urban Planning and Management by
The Open Access version of this book, available at http://www.tandfebooks.com/doi/view/10.1201/9781315146638, has been made available under a Creative Commons Attribution-Non Commercial-No Derivatives 3.0 license. GIS is used today to better understand and solve urban problems. GIS in Sustainable Urban Planning and Management: A Global Perspective, explores and illustrates the capacity that geo-information and GIS have to inform practitioners and other participants in the processes of the planning and management of urban regions. The first part of the book addresses the concept of sustainable urban development, its different frameworks, the many ways of measuring sustainability, and its value in the urban policy arena. The second part discusses how urban planning can shape our cities, examines various spatial configurations of cities, the spread of activities, and the demands placed on different functions to achieve strategic objective. It further focuses on the recognition that urban dwellers are increasingly under threat from natural hazards and climate change. Written by authors with expertise on the applications of geo-information in urban management, this book showcases the importance of GIS in better understanding current urban challenges and provides new insights on how to apply GIS in urban planning. It illustrates through real world cases the use of GIS in analyzing and evaluating the position of disadvantaged groups and areas in cities and provides clear examples of applied GIS in urban sustainability and urban resilience. The idea of sustainable development is still very much central in the new development agenda of the United Nations, and in that sense, it is of particular importance for students from both the Global South and Global North. Professionals, researchers, and students alike will find this book to be an invaluable resource for understanding and solving problems relating to sustainable urban planning and management.
Sustainable Development Goals Connectivity Dilemma by
The Open Access version of this book, available at https://doi.org/10.4324/9780429290626, has been made available under a Creative Commons Attribution-Non Commercial-No Derivatives 4.0 license. Large-scale migration from rural to urban areas, and between countries, affects sustainable development at local, national, and regional levels. To strengthen urban and rural resilience to global challenges, Sustainable Development Goals Connectivity Dilemma: Land and Geospatial Information for Urban and Rural Resilience, brings together leading international geospatial experts to analyze the role of land and geospatial data infrastructures and services for achieving the United Nations' Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs). While the goals outlined in the 2030 Agenda have been longstanding aspirations worldwide, the complexity and connectivity between social, economic, environmental, and governance challenges are changing with large-scale urbanization and population growth. Structured in 5 parts, the themes and objectives of the book are in line with the critical challenges, gaps, and opportunities raised at all UN-GGIM events and UN-GGIM Academic Network forums. Through the different perspectives of scholars, industry actors, and policy-makers, this book provides interdisciplinary analysis and multisectoral expertise on the interconnection between the SDGs, geospatial information, and urban and rural resilience. Sustainable Development Goals Connectivity Dilemma: Land and Geospatial Information for Urban and Rural Resilience is an essential reference for researchers, industry professionals, and postgraduate students in fields such as geomatics, land administration, urban planning, GIS, and sustainable development. It will also prove a vital resource for environmental protection specialists, government practitioners, UN-GGIM delegates, and geospatial and land administration agencies. Features: Introduces a holistic and new approach to sustainable development Brings together social, economic, and environmental dimensions of sustainability Highlights the significance and the role of geospatial information in sustainable development Examines urban and rural interdependencies in the context of strengthening resilience Written by experts with diverse academic and professional backgrounds who examine connectivity and develop strategic pathways
Click the link above to understand how to better search the Library's catalog.
Click here to search our catalog.
Tip: Use "Subject" searching to find more relevant resources.
If you are browsing for a book, use the call numbers below as a guide.
G1-922: General Geography
H: Social Sciences
Q1-295: General Science
S1-972: Agriculture
U1-900: Military Science
Cartography, Third Edition by
Integrating cutting-edge technology with traditional cartographic principles, this text provides a framework for effectively visualizing and analyzing geospatial data. It gives students critical concepts and methods for harnessing the enormous amount of geospatial data that is available on the Internet and creating maps that can support real-world decision making. The writing style is straightforward and accessible. Illustrated throughout with highly instructive diagrams and sample maps, the book includes 58 color plates.
Past Time, Past Place by
Encompassing a broad range of history -- from the Greek and Roman eras to the Salem witch trials and the Dust Bowl of the early 20th century, leading scholars from the United States, Canada, and Great Britain analyze history with the tools of GIS. Through the use of modern GIS technology the past is revealed in new ways, in re-creating Civil War battlefields, by bringing ancient landscapes back to life, and in re-examining long-held assumptions about historical events. Combining a deep appreciation of the strengths of traditional history with the technology of GIS, this book provides a new perspective for historical researchers and GIS experts.
Spatial Statistics and Geostatistics by
"Ideal for anyone who wishes to gain a practical understanding of spatial statistics and geostatistics. Difficult concepts are well explained and supported by excellent examples in R code, allowing readers to see how each of the methods is implemented in practice"- Professor Tao Cheng, University College LondonFocusing specifically on spatial statistics and including components for ArcGIS, R, SAS and WinBUGS, this book illustrates the use of basic spatial statistics and geostatistics, as well as the spatial filtering techniques used in all relevant programs and software. It explains and demonstrates techniques in: spatial sampling spatial autocorrelation local statistics spatial interpolation in two-dimensions advanced topics including Bayesian methods, Monte Carlo simulation, error and uncertainty. It is a systematic overview of the fundamental spatial statistical methods used by applied researchers in geography, environmental science, health and epidemiology, population and demography, and planning. A companion website includes digital R code for implementing the analyses in specific chapters and relevant data sets to run the R codes.
Click the icon below to search our eBook Collection.
