Social Work: Books

Provides brief biographies of social workers and contributors in the field.

The Blackwell Encyclopedia of Social Work provides a concise guide to 400 topics relevant to the practice of social work in the 21st Century. It brings together 250 top authors and covers all service user groups.

Useful for social work majors or readers considering the possibility of social work as a career, this new edition provides updated career facts and statistics. This practical reference provides basic information on becoming a social worker, including information on accredited social work programs at all levels - baccalaureate, master's, and doctoral programs - as well as guidance on social work licensing regulations and procedures, fields and organizations that employ social workers, applying for employment, and even adapting to one's first job in social work. All of the information is provided in clear, direct language and in easy-to-follow charts and tables. This new edition provides up-to-date statistics on fields of social work, current addresses of professional social work and related organizations, and updated information about licensing procedures and regulations in every state. For anyone intersted in social work.

The Encyclopedia of Social Welfare History in North Amercia is a unique reference book that will provide users with basic information about the history of social welfare in North America, including Canada, Mexico, and the United States. Since many themes and issues are similar in the three nations, entries will provide comparative information about common as well as distinctive concerns and developments. Significant events, influential persons, legislation, social problems, and societal responses are described in detail. Editors include specialists in the social welfare history of each nation, and they have collaborated with scholars from a variety of academic disciplines to prepare entries of varying length addressing these issues. Included in each entry are suggestions for further reading that will guide readers to the rich resources available for learning about the history of North American social welfare. The encyclopedia also provides cross-references for important topics. This volume will be a unique reference tool for students at all levels, for teachers, and for libraries serving anyone with an interest in the history of North American social welfare. Topics covered include: - Canada - Charity - Child welfare - Economic conditions and social welfare - Economics/tax policy - Health/Mental Health Policy - Landmark social welfare legislation - Mexico - Poverty - Race and social inequality - Social problems - Social security and income maintenance - Social welfare reform - Social welfare reformers - Social work - United States - Women and social welfare.

A comprehensive collection of articles about social work and issues concerning social services.

The Handbook of Social Work Direct Practice discusses the context of practice, its theories and frameworks, approaches to change fields of practice, research and empirical issues, and professional issues. Written by a group of contributors, who are leading expert in their fields, this volume will service a definitive reference for social work students and professionals.

Social work is developing its own research orientation and knowledge base, springing from the research traditions of sociology and psychology and grounded in human rights and social justice. Effective social research relies on critical thinking and the ability to view situations from new perspectives. It is relevant to every area of social work practice: from the initial stages of an intervention, to planning a course of action, and finally evaluating practice. Research for Social Workersis an accessible introduction to the research methods most commonly used in social work and social welfare. The major stages of research projects are outlined step by step, including analysing results and reporting. It is written in non-technical language for students and practitioners without a strong maths background. Illustrated with examples from across the world, this book captures the realities of social work research in a wide range of settings. End of chapter exercises and questions make this an ideal introduction to research methods. This third edition is fully revised and updated. It includes new chapters on systematic reviews and research in crisis situations, as well as more substantial coverage of statistics.

Get accurate information on social work concepts--anytime, anyplace! The Social Work Student's Research Handbook keeps the information you need on essential classroom concepts and principles right at your fingertips. Practical and easy to use, this comprehensive handbook provides instant access to the nuts and bolts of social work research. The handbook is a perfect resource to help students integrate research into projects, theses, and dissertations, and to help practitioners refresh, review, and organize their professional processes. The Social Work Student's Research Handbook is a complement to the dense and heavy research books available that cover a lot of material--and have the pages to prove it! It helps you sort through the narrative, details, and examples to get straight to the heart of each issue when it counts. It provides the tools you need to get through the learning process and is an essential aid for reference use with professional literature; for selecting a problem for social work study; identifying a design type; developing or selecting an instrument; developing a sampling strategy; collecting and analyzing data; and organizing, writing, disseminating, and utilizing results. The Social Work Student's Research Handbook includes concise, usable information on: problem formulation working from questions or hypothesis assumptions design options (exploratory, descriptive, experimental) evaluations (practice, program) data analysis (qualitative, quantitative) and much more. In addition, each chapter ends with a summary of major points to remember and a self-test exercise. The Social Work Student's Research Handbook is an invaluable resource for MSW students as they apply what they've learned in research courses toward original research projects. It's equally handy for social work practitioners and research instructors.

Provides reliable and highly accessible information about effective services and treatment approaches across the full spectrum of social work practice.

Using and Interpreting Statistics is a uniquely engaging and easy-to-understand introductory statistics text for the health, behavioral, and social sciences, as well as general statistics courses. Written by an award-winning master teacher, this full-color text - the only full-color statistics text on the market - covers all the essential topics needed for a first course in statistics. It uses a variety of memorable examples not only from the health, behavioral, and social sciences, but also from everyday life to help drive home important topics and help students apply the material to their course of study. In addition, a unique collection of research-based learning aids promotes in-depth learning. Features include Chapter Roadmaps, Group Practice Exercises, Review Exercises and Homework Problems, and a unique "Tom and Harry" mnemonic that helps students "routinize" statistical decision-making. UNIQUE! The book's engaging writing style and unique "personality" make the study of statistics not only understandable but enjoyable. UNIQUE! Printed in full color, with approximately 120 illustrations. UNIQUE! Examples from nursing, health sciences, behavioral sciences, social sciences, and everyday life help students in a variety of programs understand and apply key concepts. UNIQUE! Group Practice Exercises are included throughout the chapters, and Review Exercises and Homework Problems appear at the end of each chapter. Answers to Review Exercises are included at the end of the text, and answers to Homework Problems and Group Practice Exercises are provided for faculty. UNIQUE! Incorporates research-based learning principles to promote deeper processing of material and long-term learning. UNIQUE! Engaging Looking Closer footnotes provide additional information of interest and offer a welcome diversion during study sessions. UNIQUE! A recurring "Tom and Harry" mnemonic - "Tom And Harry Despise Crabby Infants" - reminds students of the process involved in a statistical analysis: Test, Assumptions, Hypothesis, Decision rule, Calculations, Interpretation.

--Choosing your topic area
-- Developing research questions
-- Steps in the research process
-- Sampling
-- Surveys and interviews
-- Needs identification and analysis
-- How do I evaluate my program?
-- Action research
-- Best practice evaluation
-- Qualitative research
-- Quantitative research
-- Statistics for social workers.