Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Mathematics: Books

Searching the Catalog

Click this link to search our online catalog. 

Catalog Search Tips

Need a Book?

If you need a book about Math, search our online catalog.

Tip: Use "Subject" searching to find more relevant resources. 

If you are browsing for a book, use the call numbers below as a guide.

 

QA 1-43                   General

QA 47-59                 Tables

QA 71-90                 Instruments and machines

QA 75-76.95           Calculating machines

QA 101-(145)          Elementary mathematics

QA 150-272.5         Algebra

 

QA 273-280            Probabilities

QA 299.6-433         Analysis

QA 440-699            Geometry, Trigonometry, Topology

QA 801-939            Analytic mechanics

Selected Math General Collection Books

 

Engaging Young Children in Mathematics: Standards for Early Childhood Mathematics Education [QA 135.6 .E57 2004] - This book discusses standards related to math teaching for children from preschool through second grade. 

How to Read and Do Proofs: An Introduction to Mathematical Thought Processes [QA 9.54 .S65 2014] - The summary of this book states that this book "will help you master the basic techniques that are used in all proofs." 

Math Makes Sense!: A Constructivist Approach to the Teaching and Learning of Mathematics [QA 135.5 .Q55 2016] - This book is intended to help people teach or learn mathematics. 

Math Through the Ages: A Gentle History for Teachers and Others [QA 21 .B47 2015] - In this book, you can find information about the history of mathematics from the 15th and 16th centuries to the present. 

Selected Math Reference Books

 

A to Z of Women in Science and Math [Q141 .Y675 1999 Ref] - This book provides biographical information about many women mathematicians.

CRC Concise Encyclopedia of Mathematics [QA 5 .W45 2003 Ref] – alphabetically arranged entries of definitions, formulas, figures, and tabulations. This work is more accessible and not as scholarly as some of the other math titles.                                                                

CRC Standard Mathematical Tables and Formulae [QA 47 .M315 2003 Ref] – divided into broad chapters, this volume contains the essential reference material for all of the major disciplines in Mathematics. This edition is newly revised and contains a comprehensive index.

Encyclopedic Dictionary of Mathematics [QA 5 .I8313 1987 4 volumes Ref] – 450 articles on advanced mathematical topics. This work is of a scholarly and theoretical nature and is intended for faculty and advanced students of mathematics.                                                      

Facts on File Dictionary of Mathematics [QA 5 .F35 1999 Ref] – over 3,000 definitions of mathematical terms. Entries range from two or three lines to several paragraphs. Aimed at undergraduates. Illustrations included.                                                                                           

Penguin Dictionary of Mathematics [QA 5 .P4425 2003 Ref] – Consisting of nearly 3500 entries, this work provides “concise explanations of mathematical terms” as well as entries on noted mathematicians.                                                                

Table of Integrals, Series, and Products [QA 55 .G6613 1994 Ref] – intended use by upper-level math students and mathematicians. One must become familiar with the authors’ classification system of the tables in order to find anything. The material is set up by the order of outer function according to the authors’ ranking. For more information, please see the preface material. Several pages are dedicated to how material is arranged.

E-Books

Click the icon below to search our E-Book Collection. 

 

Selected Math E-Books

Click the icons below to read these Math ebooks.

 

 Book Jacket

The Philosophy of Mathematics: Selected Writings (Published in 2010) - This e-book contains the mathematical philosophy of a math expert Charles S. Peirce. 

 

 

Book Jacket

Street Fighting Mathematics: The Art of Educated Guessing and Opportunistic Problem Solving (Published in 2010) - According to the description, this e-book teaches readers "how to guess answers without needing a proof or an exact calculation." 

 

 

Book Jacket

Towards a Philosophy of Real Mathematics (Published in 2003) - According to the description, the author of this e-book "sets out a variety of approaches to new thinking about the philosophy of mathematics."