Skip to main content

Sociology: Books

Searching the Catalog

Click this link to see what our catalog has to offer. 

Selected Sociology E-Books

Click the ebook titles below to read these popular ebooks about sociology.

Aging in Rural Places: Programs, Policies, and Professional Practice (Published in 2015) - In this ebook, you'll find information about elderly people living in rural areas of the United States and information about medical and social services for those people.

Book Jacket

 

 

The Divided City: Poverty and Prosperity in Urban America (Published in 2018) - This ebook discusses the topics of equality, the poor in U.S. cities, urban renewal in the U.S., and urban sociology in the U.S.

Book Jacket

 

 

Fifty Key Sociologists: The Formative Theorists (Published in 2007) - This ebook provides biographical entries about sociologists from the 19th century, such as Jane Addams and Emile Durkheim.

Book Jacket

 

 

 

 

Need a Book?

If you need a book about sociology, search our online catalog.

Tip: Use "Subject" searching to find more relevant resources. 

If you are browsing for a book, use the call numbers below as a guide.

HM 435-1281                      Sociology

HM 435-477                       History of sociology

HM 481-554                       Theory. Method

HM 621-656                       Culture

HM 661-696                       Social control

HM 701                              Social systems

HM 706                              Social structure

HM 711-806                       Groups and organizations

HM 811-821                       Deviant behavior

HM 826                              Social institutions

HM 831-901                        Social change

HM 1001-1281                    Social psychology

Need Help?

Click the link above to understand how to better search the Library's catalog. 

Selected Sociology General Collection Books

 

The Great Inversion and the Future of the American City [HT 123 .E37 2012] - This book provides case studies about cities and towns throughout the United States. The case studies are relevant to various topics, such as urban sociology and gentrification.

Racial Diversity and Social Capital: Equality and Community in America [HN 59.2 .H474 2007] - In this book, many sociology-related topics are discussed, some of which include cultural pluralism, minorities, and social capital.

Reconsidering the Urban Disadvantaged: The Role of Systems, Institutions, and Organizations [H1 .A4 vol. 647] (2013) - This book discusses several social issues in the United States, such as poor people in urban areas, services for those people, people with social disabilities, and community organization.

Selected Sociology Reference Books

 

The Basics of Sociology [HM585 .S77 2005 Ref] – provides information on sociology, the history of sociology, and other topics.

The Blackwell Encyclopedia of Sociology [HM425 .B53 2007 Ref, 11 volumes] – provides encyclopedic entries pertaining to sociological topics

The Cambridge Dictionary of Sociology [HM 425 .C36 2006 Ref] – provides definitions for sociological terms, such as idealism and cultural relativism.

Encyclopedia of Multiculturalism [E184 .A1 E58 1994 Ref, 8 volumes] – contains information on the interweaving of cultures in the United States including ethnic issues, race relations and minority groups.

Encyclopedia of Social History [HN28 .E53 1994 Ref] contains 457 articles on groups, behaviors and ideas from the earliest civilizations to the present with an index of general concepts, people, events, and institutions.

Encyclopedia of Social Theory [HM425 .E47 2005 Ref, 2 volumes] – discusses many different social theories, such as enlightenment and Marxist theory.

Encyclopedia of Sociology [HM425 .E5 2000 Ref, 5 volumes]gives summaries of sociological concepts, theory, and areas of scholarly investigation across the discipline.

International Encyclopedia of Marriage and Family [HQ9 .E52 2003 Ref, 4 volumes] – provides thorough articles pertaining to family topics and issues, such as child custody and motherhood.

The Oxford Encyclopedia of American Social History [HN57 .O94 2012, 2 volumes] - covers the topics of social history and social conditions in the U.S.


E-Books

Click the icon below to search our E-Book Collection.