Family & Consumer Sciences: Books

Over 400 entries on all aspects of families in the United States and Canada, from “Abandonment of the Family” to “Zero Population Growth Movement.” Each entry ranges from 1 to 10 pages in length and is accompanied by several black and white photographs.

The second edition of the International Encyclopedia of Marriage and Family revises and expands Macmillan's 1995 Encyclopedia of Marriage and the Family, adopting an international, cross-cultural approach to such diverse topics as adolescent parenthood, family planning, cohabitation, widowhood, domestic violence, child abuse and neglect, codependency and commuter marriages. It includes articles specific to countries and to religious traditions, examining the history of family life within these cultures and discussing how families have been affected by political and social change.

SAGE Reference is proud to announce the Encyclopedia of Human Development, Three-Volume Set. Whether charting the emotional attachment of an infant to his or her parents and its long-term effects on well-being, media violence and adolescents′ behavior, or factors moderating the natural decline in physical and mental abilities associated with aging, the cross-disciplinary field of human development is one that captures interest among and holds practical relevance for the general public as well as academia. The Encyclopedia of Human Development presents state-of-the-art research and ready-to-use facts from the fields of psychology, individual and family studies and education.

While becoming a parent is relatively easy, parenting is a skill that is learned and improved over a lifetime. This reference book provides a comprehensive summary of what we know about parents and parent-child relationships. Through more than 240 alphabetically arranged entries, the volume synthesizes the present state of research on parenting. Each entry is written by an expert contributor and represents an authoritative view on a particular topic. Entries are related to child activity, child outcomes, child states, parent behaviors, parental situations, external and community concerns, systemic issues, the transition to parenthood, available resources, and various persons who have shaped our knowledge of parenting.

This is a multidisciplinary reference source on the issues, terms, people, theories and trends that relate to children and their development. It contains over 900 alphabetically arranged, signed articles covering all aspects of child development from birth to young adulthood. Entries have been chosen for their relevance and importance by an international advisory panel of child development experts, and were composed by authorities in the child development field. Entries include: aggressiveness, anorexia nervosa, convergent thinking, fixation, motor development, repression, self-esteem, single-parent homes and thumb-sucking.

Offers 40 swatch samples and detailed descriptions of cotton fabrics, fiber properties, finishes and care instructions.

Provides 32 swatch samples of silk and describes its types, characteristics, and special effects. Care instructions and a glossary are also included.

Everything you need to know about wool. Offers detailed descriptions and 35 swatch samples, plus a glossary of terms.

From diapers to Dior, saris to serapes, the world of clothing is nearly as vast and as ancient as the human race. Tracing the stylistic and functional threads that unite clothing across time and cultures, as well as delving into the divergent styles and significance of apparel, this A to Z encyclopedia is the essential resource for exploring the relationship between culture and couture.

The essential visual sourcebook on men's fashion; how students and professionals alike can develop a personal aesthetic Today's menswear designers must understand the history of fashion to come up with new and innovative ideas. Filled with inspiration for designers and students alike, The Fashion Resource Book: Men is a collection of research essential to the study of men's fashion. The book is divided into three sections, each structured as a series of detailed case studies. The first section investigates the research process in the work of such designers as Louis Vuitton, Alexander McQueen, and Yohji Yamamoto, among others. The second section is on research and inspiration, including street style and uniform, and the influence of established companies. The third section presents detailed case studies of particular garments, including parkas, trench coats, and denim jackets. The follow-up to the hugely successful The Fashion Resource Book, this volume is sure to become required reading in fashion classes and home libraries alike.

How people dressed throughout history often reflects how they lived at the time, and Clothing in World History gives the reader a chance to explore clothing in a given place and time while also providing a general history to help put the costumes in context. This set takes the reader on a journey from the beginning of time to present day to look at what people wore in Europe, North America, South America, and Asia. Men's, Women's, and Children's clothing from various social classes, as well as accessories, are be included. This set is a critical guide for secondary and undergraduate students interested in history, social history, art history, fashion, and costume. It covers the history of clothing throughout the world from pre-historic times to 2006. Many cultures are included in this study of clothing within the context of social, political, economic and religious history as they pertain to each time period and place. Researchers can turn to this set first for the most essential information about a time, place, and style of dress.

The Encyclopedia of Foods: A Guide to Healthy Nutrition is a definitive resource for what to eat for maximum health as detailed by medical and nutritional experts. This book makes the connection between health, disease, and the food we eat. The Encyclopedia describes more than 140 foods, providing information on their history, nutrient content, and medical uses. The Encyclopedia also describes the "fit kitchen", including the latest in food safety, equipment and utensils for preparing fit foods, and ways to modify favorite recipes to ensure health and taste.

Signed entries on all aspects of nutrition, ranging from 3 to 10 pages in length, accompanied by suggestions for further reading.

Since the first edition of this book was published nearly a decade ago, the dietary supplement market has skyrocketed to a USD 6 billion industry and the government has established an Office of Dietary Supplements within the National Institutes of Health. A good deal of new research has emerged and new discoveries and developments have occurred. The Encyclopedia of Vitamins, Minerals and Supplements, Second Edition provides a current, fresh look at vitamins, minerals, and supplements and how they work in the human body. This layperson's guide to the nutritional options and substances that improve health helps readers make informed decisions about maintaining and strengthening their bodies.

Are organic foods really any better for you than nonorganic? Is it possible that consuming dietary fat can actually have health benefits? And wouldn't eating turnip roots be equivalent to eating turnip greens? Despite the current attention focused upon eating healthy, many people believe common myths regarding our food choices.

Raising a teen is tough--especially when your teen has trouble regulating their emotions and lashes out. This groundbreaking book will give you the tools you need to stop unwittingly reinforcing your teen's bad behavior, reduce conflicts, and get your teen on track with the things that really matter.

"Targeting Investments in Children" tackles the problem of evaluating these programs by examining them using a common metric: their impact on earnings in adulthood. The volume’s contributors explore a variety of issues, such as the effect of interventions targeted at children of different ages, and study a range of programs, including child care, after-school care, and drug prevention. The results will be invaluable to educational leaders and researchers as well as policy makers.