LibGuides: Music: Books

Quick Links

Need Help?

Catalog Search Tips

Click the link below to understand how to better search the Library's catalog.

Catalog Searches

Click the links below to see what our online catalog has to offer on some music topics.

Selected Reference Books

The Future of the Music Business by Steve Gordon (Music Pro Guides). New technologies have revolutionized the music business. While these technologies have wreaked havoc on traditional business models, they've also provided new opportunities for music business entrepreneurs, as well as new challenges for musicians, recording artists, songwriters, record labels and music publishers. The Future of the Music Business provides a road map for success by explaining legal fundamentals including copyright law's application to the music business, basic forms of agreement such as recording, songwriting and management contracts, PLUS the rules pertaining to digital streaming, downloading and Internet radio. This book also shows exactly how much money is generated by each of these models, and details how the money flows to the principal stakeholders: artists, record labels, songwriters and music publishers. Part I is a comprehensive analysis of the laws and business practices applying to today's music business Part II is a guide for producers on how to clear music for almost any kind of project including movies, TV, ad campaigns, stand-alone digital projects AND how much it will cost Part III presents new discussions on the hottest industry controversies including net neutrality; and the financial battles between the new digital music services & copyright owners and artists Part IV discusses how to best use the new technologies to succeed The book contains URLs linking to 2 on-line videos: Fundamentals of Music Business and Law, and Anatomy of a Copyright Infringement Case. Attorneys can use a password to gain 2 CLE credits.
Call Number: ML3790 .G67 2015 Ref
ISBN: 9781480360655
Publication Date: 2015
The Grove Dictionary of American Music by Charles Hiroshi Garrett (Editor-In-Chief) The Grove Dictionary of American Music, 2nd edition will be the largest, most comprehensive reference publication on American Music. Twenty-five years ago, the four volumes of the first edition of the dictionary initiated a great expansion in American music scholarship. This second editionreflects the growth in scholarship the first edition initiated. At eight volumes, it provides greatly expanded coverage, particularly in the areas of popular music, cities and regions, musical theater, opera, concert music, and music technology, as well as the musical traditions of many ethnic andcultural groups.The articles of the dictionary range from small definitions of dance styles and musical terms to mid-length biographies of important performers, composers and music patrons, to longer examinations of larger subjects such as the history of jazz, musical instruments, music education in the UnitedStates, and the American history of the orchestra.The dictionary's articles are supplemented by over 400 images and 140 musical examples and other materials. An index, abbreviations list, list of contributors, and tips on the use of the dictionary make navigation easy. With well-researched, informative articles by 1500 authors, including most ofthe top scholars in the field, The Grove Dictionary of American Music will be accessible to scholars, academic specialists, and the general public.
Call Number: ML101.U6 N48 2013 Ref v.1
ISBN: 9780195314281
Publication Date: 2013
The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians by Stanley Sadie (Editor); John Tyrrell (Editor) Since its initial publication in 1980, the Dictionary has been widely acclaimed as an indispensable resource and a classic reference. The word "updated" doesn't begin to describe the thousands of new articles, topics, cross-references, and areas of scholarship incorporated into The New GroveII. Every one of the first edition's 22,500 articles has been reviewed and revised, with thousands of articles expanded. Previously neglected or under-represented areas have been examined, explored, and explained. Movements and topics once deemed too controversial or too far from the mainstream havebeen added. And throughout, 6,500 new articles cover more than 5,000 years of music history, instruments, composers, institutions, performers, genres, and more.The New Grove II takes you beyond the customary and familiar into new worlds with extensive, authoritative contributions on non-Western music. From major influences, such as Latin American music, to less-examined contributions, such as Asian, sub-Saharan African, and Pacific Islander, The New GroveII presents the music, theory, instruments, and musicians that have helped to define music around the world.
Call Number: ML100 .N48 2001 Ref v.1
ISBN: 9781561592395
Publication Date: 2003
Praxis II Music Content Knowledge (5113) Exam Secrets Study Guide by Praxis II Exam Secrets Test Prep Staff (Editor) ***Includes Practice Test Questions*** Praxis II Music: Content Knowledge (5113) Exam Secrets helps you ace the Praxis II: Subject Assessments, without weeks and months of endless studying. Our comprehensive Praxis II Music: Content Knowledge (5113) Exam Secrets study guide is written by our exam experts, who painstakingly researched every topic and concept that you need to know to ace your test. Our original research reveals specific weaknesses that you can exploit to increase your exam score more than you've ever imagined. Praxis II Music: Content Knowledge (5113) Exam Secrets includes: The 5 Secret Keys to Praxis II Test Success: Time Is Your Greatest Enemy, Guessing is Not Guesswork, Practice Smarter, Not Harder, Prepare, Don't Procrastinate, Test Yourself; Introduction to the Praxis II Exam Series including: Praxis Assessment Explanation, Two Kinds of Praxis Assessments, Understanding the ETS; A comprehensive General Strategy review including: Make Predictions, Answer the Question, Benchmark, Valid Information, Avoid Fact Traps, Milk the Question, The Trap of Familiarity, Eliminate Answers, Tough Questions, Brainstorm, Read Carefully, Face Value, Prefixes, Hedge Phrases, Switchback Words, New Information, Time Management, Contextual Clues, Don't Panic, Pace Yourself, Answer Selection, Check Your Work, Beware of Directly Quoted Answers, Slang, Extreme Statements, Answer Choice Families; Along with a complete, in-depth study guide for your specific Praxis II Test, and much more...
Call Number: LB1766.P739 M88 2018 Ref
ISBN: 9781610726986
Publication Date: 2018

Searching for a Book?

In the main library of the Roberts-LaForge Library, the Library of Congress call number classification letter for music is M.

In the Instructional Resources Center (IRC) the Dewey Decimal call number range for music is 780-789.

In the event, you do not find what you are looking for by simply browsing, please consult the online catalog. Below are general classification schemes for music in the Library of Congress and Dewey Decimal classification systems.

Tip: Use "Subject" searching to find more relevant resources.

Main Library:

CALL NUMBERS	SUBJECT
M 1-5000	Music (collections and genres)
ML 1-3930	Literature on Music
MT 1-960	Musical instruction and study

Instructional Resources Center:

CALL NUMBERS	SUBJECTS
016.78	Bibliographies on music
372.87	Elementary education in music
780	Music
781	General principles and musical forms
782	Vocal music
783	Music for single voices; The voice
784-788	Instruments and their music

Selected Books from the Catalog

Search our catalog here or check out these books about music.

Teaching Music to Students with Autism by Alice M. Hammel; Ryan M. Hourigan Teaching Music to Students with Autism provides a comprehensive study of the education of students with autism within the music classroom. The book is designed for music educators, music teacher educators, and all those who have an interest in the education of students with autism.The authors focus on the diagnosis of autism, advocating for students and music programs, and creating and maintaining a team approach when working with colleagues. A significant portion of the book is focused on understanding the communication, cognition, behavior, sensory, and socializationchallenges inherent in working with students with autism. The authors suggest ways to structure classroom experiences and learning opportunities for all students. Vignettes and classroom snapshots from experienced teachers provide additional opportunities to transfer theory to real-lifeapplication.
Call Number: MT17 .H34 2013
ISBN: 9780199856770
Publication Date: 2013
Music in Special Education, 2nd Edition by Mary S. Adamek; Alice-Ann Darrow The field of special education has changed greatly over the past three decades. With this change, the responsibilities of music educators and music therapists have also changed. Music professionals in the schools must keep abreast of new laws, terminology, approaches, materials, and technology in order to meet the needs of students with disabilities. Inclusive education has contributed to the changed roles of music therapists and music educators in the classroom. Music in Special Education (2nd edition) provides an introduction to the current role of music education and music therapy in the lives of students with disabilities and their families. This completely updated edition of Music in Special Education explains important features of special education that are essential for interdisciplinary communication and effective teaching. Part I introduces the reader to the historical and instructional foundations of music in special education, including major topics and developments in the field of special education, important terminology, and curricular issues. Part II introduces the characteristics of students with specific disabilities, the educational effects of these disabilities, appropriate adaptations, as well as music education and music therapy approaches used with students who have these disabilities. New to the 2nd edition, Part III extends the information from Parts I and II to address music therapy research in the schools, including students with disabilities in beginning band, and issues related to the family of students with disabilities. Music in Special Education (2nd edition), is an essential text to prepare effective future music educators and music therapists for the real world. Book jacket.
Call Number: MT17 .A32 2010
ISBN: 9781884914263
Publication Date: 2010
Multicultural Perspectives in Music Education by William M. Anderson (Editor); Patricia Shehan Campbell (Editor) With Multicultural Perspectives in Music Education, you can explore musics from around the world with your students in a meaningful way. Broadly based and practically oriented, the book will help you develop curriculum for an increasingly multicultural society. Ready-to-use lesson plans make it easy to bring many different but equally logical musical systems into your classroom. The authors--a variety of music educators and ethnomusicologists--provide plans and resources to broaden your students' perspectives on music as an important aspect of culture both within the United States and globally.
Call Number: MT1 .M93 2010 v.1
ISBN: 9781607095392
Publication Date: 2011

eBook Collection

Click the icon below to search our
eBook Collection .

Selected E-Books on Music

Chamber Music: A Research and Information Guide by John Baron Chamber Music: A Research and Information Guide is a reference tool for anyone interested in chamber music. It is not a history or an encyclopedia but a guide to where to find answers to questions about chamber music. The third edition adds nearly 600 new entries to cover new research since publication of the previous edition in 2002. Most of the literature is books, articles in journals and magazines, dissertations and theses, and essays or chapters in Festschriften, treatises, and biographies. In addition to the core literature obscure citations are also included when they are the only studies in a particular field. In addition to being printed, this volume is also for the first time available online. The online environment allows for information to be updated as new research is introduced. This database of information is a'live'resource, fully searchable, and with active links. Users will have unlimited access, annual revisions will be made and a limited number of pages can be downloaded for printing.
Call Number: ML128.C4 B37 2010 eb
Publication Date: 2010
Music Fundamentals: A Balanced Approach by Sumy Takesue
Call Number: MT6 .T133 2010 eb
Publication Date: 2010
Professional Careers in Music, Perfomer, Composer, Conductor by Institute for Career Research
Call Number: ML3795 .P76 2005 eb
ISBN: 9781423725893
Publication Date: 2005