Music Index, an indispensable database for finding information on music-related topics in popular and scholarly journals, boasts coverage of over 775 international journals, including The Musical Quarterly, The Choral Journal, Journal of the American Musicological Society (JAMS), Cadence, Music Educators Journal, Music & Letters, and the Journal of Band Research.
Search the Music Index database below for music-related topics.
Click the links below to visit our databases. You may also click this link to search our databases by subject.
Academic Search Premier
A resource found in many scholarly settings worldwide, Academic Search Premier is a leading multidisciplinary research database. It provides acclaimed full-text journals, magazines, and other valuable resources.
ERIC
An authoritative database of indexed and full-text education literature and resources. Sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences of the U.S. Department of Education, it is an essential tool for education researchers of all kinds.
Explora Educator’s Edition
Explora supports both student research and classroom instruction with rich, reliable content and easy-to-use functionality.
MAS Ultra: School Edition
Designed specifically for high school libraries, MAS Ultra – School Edition is a full-text database of popular magazines, reference books, and primary sources covering many subjects, including history, science, and health.
Middle Search Plus
Designed for middle school libraries, Middle Search Plus is a full-text database providing popular middle school magazines and reference books. Covering subjects such as history, current events, science, and sports, it also includes thousands of biographies and primary source documents, plus over a million photos, maps, and flags.
Primary Search
Designed for elementary school libraries, Primary Search is a full-text database providing popular children’s magazines, easy-to-read encyclopedic entries, and a vast image collection. Students can learn about a variety of topics, including endangered species, famous musicians, fitness, and space exploration.
Teacher Reference Center
A complimentary research database for teachers, Teacher Reference Center (TRC) provides indexing and abstracts for more than 230 peer-reviewed journals.
Print journals can be found on the second floor of the library in the Serials Department. Some music-related journals in the library are listed below. View information about library holdings below the titles or click the titles for more information.
From vol. 1- (July 1977- )
From vol. 16- (Spr. 1998- )
From vol. 16- (Sep. 1966- ); Bound: From vol. 23- (Sep. 1973- ); Microfilm: From vol. 16-vol. 22 (Sep. 1966-July 1973)
Microfilm: From vol.12-vol. 45 (1968-1976)
From vol. 31-36 (2005-2010)
From vol. 10-45 (July 1969-2005), retain current and previous year
From vol. 5-vol. 12 (1977-1985)
From vol. 1-vol. 22 (1977-1998)
From vol. 1-vol. 41 (1852-1881)
From vol. 66 no.12-vol. 74 (Dec. 1948-1956)
From vol. 48-vol. 66 no.11 (1930-Nov. 1948)
From vol. 9 no. 4-vol. 39 (Apr. 1959-July 1989); Bound: From vol. 15-vol. 39 (1965-1979, July 1980-July 1989); Microfilm: From vol. 9 no.4-vol. 14 (Apr. 1959-1964)
From vol. 7-vol. 22 (1978-1993)
From vol. 32- (Fall 1996- )
From vol. 1-vol. 29 (1959-1988); Bound: From vol. 8-vol. 20, vol. 22-vol. 29 (1966-1978, 1980-1988); Microfilm: From vol.1-vol.7, vol. 21 (1959-1965, 1979)
From vol. 1- (1957- )
From vol. 11-40 (1974-2003)
From vol. 23-vol. 35 no.3 (1994-Sep. 2006)
From vol. 1- (1953- ); Bound: From vol. 1-vol. 10, vol. 15- (1953-1962, 1967- ); Microfilm: From vol. 11-vol. 14, vol. 34 (1963-1966, 1986)
From vol. 1- 33 (1948-1980 ). Library's holdings for vol. 1-vol. 33 are shelved under: American Musicological Society Journal. Possibly missing vol. 29 (1976).
From vol. 1-vol. 2 (1924-1925). Spine has: Modern music.
From vol. 3-vol. 23 (Nov./Dec. 1925-Fall 1946)
From vol. 1- (1920- )
From vol. 2-20 (1915-1934 )
From vol. 4-vol. 39 (1946-Sep. 1981); Bound: From vol. 4-vol. 32, vol. 34-vol. 39 (Sep./Oct. 1946-1974, 1976-Sep. 1981); Microfilm: From vol. 33 (1975)
From vol. 1-vol. 25 (1940-1964)
From vol. 2-vol. 20 (Sep. 1915-May 1934)
From vol. 1- (1915- )
From vol. 1-vol. 13 (1962-1975); Bound: From vol. 1-vol. 4, vol. 9-vol. 13 (1962-1966, 1970-1975); Microfilm: From vol. 5-vol. 9 (1966-1971)
From vol. 1-vol. 11 no.5 (1993-Apr. 2004)
Consult these music-related e-journals by clicking below or click this link to browse the library's eJournals.
Technology/connection problems?
Check out the DSU Office of Information Technology's link for answers,
or call the HELP DESK at (662) 846-4444.
Questions about Interlibrary Loan?
See the DISTANCE EDUCATION guide.