Skip to Main Content
Useful Websites
- African American Odyssey - "Rare and unique items from the Library's [Library of Congress's] vast African-American collections"
- American Women - "A gateway to Library of Congress Resources for the Study of Women's History and Culture in the United States."
- Biography of America - The “companion web site to the video series and telecourse,” of the same name covers the nation’s history from discovery to present day. For each era, Biography provides key events, an interactive map, a full transcript of the video presentation including interviews with numerous scholars, a bibliography of related web sites, and an interactive section which requires Flash software. For a single Web site, there is an unbelievable wealth of information. Teachers especially could find so many positive ways of using this site in the classroom. History students will also find the site valuable and informative.
- Century of Lawmaking for a New Nation (1774-1875) - An ambitious project by the Library of Congress, this site provides digitized copies of the Journals of the Continental Congress, Letters of Delegates to Congress 1774-1789, The Debates in the Several State Conventions on the Adoption of the Federal Constitution, The Records of the Federal Convention of 1787, Statutes at Large, the American State Papers (legislative and executive documents of Congress during the period 1789 to 1838), the U.S. Serial Set, journals of Congress (proceedings), and debates of Congress including Annals of Congress, Register of Debates, Congressional Globe, and the Congressional Record. An essential site for those doing research on the first hundred years of the country.
- Documenting the American South - Large collection of primary sources on Southern history, literature and culture, created by the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. Over 734 books and manuscripts are available online.
- HathiTrust - Access over 17 million digitized items from research collections and libraries around the world.
- Library of Congress Digital Collection - Search over 450 digital collections from the Library of Congress.
- Mississippi History Now - "Award-winning electronic publication that offers a wide variety of essays on the history of Mississippi, covering the periods from prehistory through the 20th century."
- Primary Documents in American History - Provided by the Library of Congress, this site contains primary documents from the years 1763 to 1877.
