History: Books - World History

Search our catalog here or take a look at these popular books:

Click the links below for a sampling of what the library has to offer. 

• Holocaust
• Middle Ages and Daily Life
• World War, 1939-1945 and Causes

General

• Brill’s New Pauly:  Encyclopedia of the Ancient World  – This alphabetical encyclopedia will provide comprehensive coverage of the classical world to the prehistory of the Aegean to late antiquity.  The entries include essays on people, places, events, and ideas from the ancient Greek and Roman worlds. Note:  This set in currently incomplete.
• Cambridge Ancient History 
• Cambridge Medieval History
• Chronology of World History  – Each time period (i.e. 3000 B.C.-2001 B.C.) is broken down into four major sections: (1) Politics, Government, and Economics, (2) Science, Technology, and Medicine, (3) Arts and Ideas, and (4) Society.
• Dictionary of the Middle Ages  – Alphabetically arranged articles which range in length from one paragraph to six pages. Bibliographies are included after each entry.
• Dictionary of National Biography - Biographies of English historical figures.
• Encyclopaedia Judaica  – Standard source on Jewish life, culture, faith, and history.  
• Encyclopedia of the Renaissance  – With nearly 1200 entries, this encyclopedia covers the cultural movement and period of history covering the 14^th, 15^th, and 16^th centuries known as the Renaissance. The concentration is basically all things European: either on Europe directly or its impact on other parts of the world.
• Encyclopedia of World Biography
• New Cambridge Modern History

World Conflict

• Encyclopedia of the Cold War – Brief informative entries on figures and events that shaped the international balance of power during this “cold” conflict.
• Encyclopedia of the Holocaust  – Indispensable reference source. All relevant dates, people, and events are in this work.
• Encyclopedia of the Vietnam War – Covers the history of American involvement in Vietnam. The authors also include the history of the country up to 1997. Maps, illustrations, bibliographies, and cross-references are included.
• World War I – Concise work containing large thematic chapters such as “Overview of the War.” The centerpiece of this encyclopedia is a bibliography on the principals of the war as well as related features such as wartime diplomacy and culture.
• World War II in Europe – Acts like six smaller encyclopedias in one volume. Each section is dedicated to one facet of the war (i.e. social issues, weapons, strategies, etc.) The volume includes appendices with several tables, charts, and maps.

Click the icon below to search our E-Book Collection. 

Click the icons below to examine these selected world history e-books:

After the Fall: German Policy in Occupied France, 1940-1944

Central and Eastern Europe in the Middle Ages: A Cultural History

Interpreting the Russian Revolution: The Language and Symbols of 1917

Marco Polo's China