Primary sources are a historian's best friend; however finding them can be tricky since students often don't have easy access to key archival and manuscript collections.
The catalog can help you find primary sources in the library by using some of the subdivisions below. Essentially, tack on any of the following subdivisions to your search terms.
This guide has been adapted from Yale University Libraries.
| Subdivision | What does it identify? | Used Under What Kind of Heading? | Example(s) |
| Archival Resources | Brief descriptions of types of documents about a particular place or topic, available at an institution or institutions | Countries, etc. Topics |
Canada--History--Archival resources |
| Archives | Collections of documents or historical records including notes, correspondence, minutes, photographs, legal papers |
Names of people |
Fermi, Enrico, 1901-1954--Archives |
| Catalogs | Works listing objects located in organizations, institutions or particular places | Names of artists Corporate bodies Types of organizations |
Fitzwilliam Museum--Catalogs |
| Correspondence | Letters from and/or to the person or people; can be subdivided by -Catalogs | Names of people Classes of person Ethnic groups |
Nuns--Ireland--Correspondence |
| Description and travel | Places | Quebec (Province)--Description and travel | |
| Diaries | Collections or discussions of the person's diaries and for individual diaries | Names of persons Classes of people |
Working class women--Massachusetts--Boston--Diaries |
| History--Sources | Collections or discussion of contemporary writings such as legal documents, letters, diaries, family papers,etc. assembled at a later time to serve as source material for research | Countries Names of people Classes of people Ethnic groups Topical headings |
Civil rights--United States--History--Sources |
| Interviews | Works consisting of transcripts of what was said during the course of the interview or conversations with a person on one or more occasions | Names of people Classes of people |
Authors, Spanish--20th century--Interviews |
| Manuscripts | Literary authors Literary works Groups of authors Names of literatures Topical headings |
Music--Manuscripts--Netherlands--Utrecht | |
| Maps | Individual maps or collections of maps | Countries Corporate bodies Topical headings |
Japan--Civilization--Maps |
| Notebooks, sketchbooks |
Collections or discussions of the person's notebooks or sketchbooks | Names of people | Tsang, Fu Ji, 1958--Notebooks, sketchbooks, etc. |
| Personal narratives | Personal reminiscences or accounts by participants | Names of events Names of wars |
Bataan, Battle of, Philippines, 1942--Personal narratives |
| Speeches | Can used as a subject or keyword |