Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Art Resources: Selected Websites

In the News: Art & Design Section of the New York Times

Loading ...

Useful Resource Websites

Click the links to review the selected websites. 

Americans for the Arts – large database of topics of interest to provide facts and links to resources.

Artcyclopedia – links to museums that own and display online works by particular artists as well as to online databases dedicated to individual artists.

Art Images for College Teaching (AICT) – provides access to images of art and architectural works from prehistory to the modern era. All images are in the public domain.

 Artnet – a good site to find works by contemporary artists or to locate art galleries by specialization.

Digital Imaging Project – provides images of architecture and site-specific sculpture and an index of artists and architects for easy searching.

Google Arts & Culture – on this Web page, there are clickable links to sites in art categories.

Masters of Photography – using an alphabetical list, you can locate images by famous photographers.

Olga’s Gallery – provides information about famous artists and their artwork. You can find over 15,000 paintings on this web site.

Video Data Bank (VDB) – VDB offers an easily searchable database of video and digital art.

Web Gallery of Art – according to its home page, the Web Gallery of Art is "a virtual museum and searchable database of Western (European) fine arts" of the Medieval, Renaissance, and other periods from A.D. 1000 - 1900.