LibGuides: Mississippi Education Resources: Journals / Books

Need Help?

Click the link below to understand how to better search the library's catalog.

Catalog Search Tips

Online Guides

Technology/connection problems?

Check out the DSU Office of Information Technology's link for answers,
or call the HELP DESK at (662) 846-4444.

Questions about Inter-library Loan?

See the DISTANCE EDUCATION guide.

Google Scholar

Selected Dissertations from the Catalog

Arts integration training in Mississippi education degree programs by Suzanne Hirsh
Call Number: D/181
Publication Date: 2020
2017-2018 academic achievement by participation in the Whole Schools Initiative in Mississippi : a mixed effects linear model of student scores on the Mississippi Academic Assessment Program by Laura Howell
Call Number: D/176
Publication Date: 2020
School culture : a correlational study of school culture and student achievement of central Mississippi schools by LaMarcus Norman
Call Number: D/167
Publication Date: 2019

Need a Book?

If you need a book about education, search our online catalog.

Tip: Use "Subject" searching to find more relevant resources.

If you are browsing for a book, use the call numbers below as a guide.

CALL NUMBERS	SUBJECT
L 7-991	Education (General)
LA 5-2396	History of Education
LB 5-3640	Theory and Practice of Education
LB 2300-2430	Higher Education
LC 8-59	Forms of Education
LC 65-245	Social Aspects of Education
LC 1001-1099.5	Types of Education
LC 1390-5160.3	Education of Special Classes of Persons

Databases

Click the links below to visit selected databases. You may also click this link to search our databases by subject.

Academic Search Premier
A popular resource found in many scholarly settings worldwide, Academic Search Premier is a leading multidisciplinary research database. It provides acclaimed full-text journals, magazines, and other valuable resources.

Educational Statistics
The National Center for Education Statistics (NCES) is the primary federal entity for collecting and analyzing data related to education..

ERIC
An authoritative database of indexed and full-text education literature and resources. Sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences of the U.S. Department of Education, it is an essential tool for education researchers of all kinds.

Explora Educator’s Edition
Explora supports both student research and classroom instruction with rich, reliable content and easy-to-use functionality.

MAS Ultra: School Edition
Designed specifically for high school libraries, MAS Ultra – School Edition is a full-text database of popular magazines, reference books, and primary sources covering many subjects, including history, science, and health.

Middle Search Plus
Designed for middle school libraries, Middle Search Plus is a full-text database providing popular middle school magazines and reference books. Covering subjects such as history, current events, science, and sports, it also includes thousands of biographies and primary source documents, plus over a million photos, maps, and flags.

Primary Search
Designed for elementary school libraries, Primary Search is a full-text database providing popular children’s magazines, easy-to-read encyclopedic entries, and a vast image collection. Students can learn about a variety of topics, including endangered species, famous musicians, fitness, and space exploration.

Professional Development Collection
Professional Development Collection is a highly specialized database of full-text electronic information especially for educators, professional librarians, and education researchers.

Teacher Reference Center
A complimentary research database for teachers, Teacher Reference Center (TRC) provides indexing and abstracts for more than 230 peer-reviewed journals.

Print Journals

Print journals can be found on the second floor of the library in the Serials Department. Click below to view current holdings and titles.

Library's Print Journals

Electronic Journals

Check out these education eJournals by clicking the links below
or click this link to browse the library's eJournals.

American Journal of Education

Curriculum Journal

Education Journal

Journal of Teacher Education: The Journal of Policy, Practice, and Research in Teacher Education

eBooks

Click the icon below to search our eBook Collection.

Selected Books from the Catalog

Teacher by Michael Copperman When Michael Copperman left Stanford University for the Mississippi Delta in 2002, he imagined he would lift underprivileged children from the narrow horizons of rural poverty. Well-meaning but naïve, the Asian American from the West Coast soon lost his bearings in a world divided between black and white. He had no idea how to manage a classroom or help children navigate the considerable challenges they faced. In trying to help students, he often found he couldn't afford to give what they required--sometimes with heartbreaking consequences. His desperate efforts to save child after child were misguided but sincere. He offered children the best invitations to success he could manage. But he still felt like an outsider who was failing the children and himself. Teach For America has for a decade been the nation's largest employer of recent college graduates but has come under increasing criticism in recent years even as it has grown exponentially. This memoir considers the distance between the idealism of the organization's creed that "One day, all children in this nation will have the opportunity to attain an excellent education and reach their full potential" and what it actually means to teach in America's poorest and most troubled public schools. Copperman's memoir vividly captures his disorientation in the divided world of the Delta, even as the author marvels at the wit and resilience of the children in his classroom. To them, he is at once an authority figure and a stranger minority than even they are--a lone Asian, an outsider among outsiders. His journey is of great relevance to teachers, administrators, and parents longing for quality education in America. His frank story shows that the solutions for impoverished schools are far from simple.
Call Number: LA314.D45 C67 2016 CIRC
ISBN: 9781496805850
Publication Date: 2016
William F. Winter and the New Mississippi by Charles C. Bolton For more than six decades, William F. Winter (b. 1923) has been one of the most recognizable public figures in Mississippi. His political career spanned the 1940s through the early 1980s, from his initial foray into Mississippi politics as James Eastland's driver during his 1942 campaign for the United States Senate, as state legislator, as state tax collector, as state treasurer, and as lieutenant governor. Winter served as governor of the state of Mississippi from 1980 to 1984. A voice of reason and compromise during the tumultuous civil rights battles, Winter represented the earliest embodiment of the white moderate politicians who emerged throughout the "New South." His leadership played a pivotal role in ushering in the New Mississippi: a society that moved beyond the racial caste system that had defined life in the state for almost a century after emancipation. In many ways, Winter's story over nine decades is also the story of the evolution of Mississippi in the second half of the twentieth century. Winter has remained active in public life since retiring from politics following an unsuccessful U.S. Senate campaign against Thad Cochran in 1984. During the last twenty-five years, Winter has worked with a variety of organizations to champion issues that have always been central to his vision of how to advance the interests of his native state and the South as a whole. Improving the economy, upgrading the educational system, and facilitating racial reconciliation are goals he has pursued with passion. The first biography of this pivotal figure, William F. Winter and the New Mississippi traces his life and influences from boyhood days in Grenada County, through his service in World War II, and through his long career serving Mississippi.
Call Number: F345.3.W56 B65 2013
ISBN: 9781617037870
Publication Date: 2013
Public opinion survey for the Cleveland Public Schools by Thomas Saterfiel
Call Number: LA315.C54 S37 1981
ISBN: LA315.C54 S37 1981
Publication Date: 1981