LibGuides: Speech and Hearing Sciences: Books

Quick Links

Need Help?

Catalog Search Tips

Click the link above to learn how to better search the Library's catalog.

Selected Reference Books

Comprehensive Dictionary of Audiology by Brad A. Stach Comprehensive Dictionary of Audiology: Illustrated, second edition, is an invaluable resource with over 7,000 terms integral to the profession, practice, and science of audiology. Concise, current, and accessible, this edition is a response to the expansion of information and technology that has occurred in the field of audiology over the past few years. Useful illustrations and tables enrich the definitions and a wealth of appendices round out this handy desktop reference. Comprehensive Dictionary of Audiology: Illustrated, second edition, is a must-have for audiologists and professionals in the communication sciences.
Call Number: RF291 .S73 2003 Ref
ISBN: 9781401848262
Publication Date: 2003
Encyclopedia of Audiology and Hearing Research (4 Volume Set) by Erno Larivaara (Editor) This 4 volume set presents important research on audiology and hearing. Some of the topics discussed herein include: cochlear implantation; chronic tinnitus; the auditory brainstem response;sensorineural hearing loss; autoimmune inner ear disease; presbyastasis.
Call Number: RF290 .E53 2020 Ref v.1
ISBN: 9781536177022
Publication Date: 2020
Handbook of Clinical Audiology by Jack Katz The Fifth Edition of this classic and user-friendly audiology text has been fully revised and updated to include a standard format for audiograms. This book is the only text of its kind that covers clinical methods and principles; updated content in this edition continues that tradition. Edited by a noted professor of communication disorders, with numerous contributors, this book features 300 illustrations and 41 comprehensive chapters. Chapter topics range from the basics of clinical audiology to developmental disorders, cochlear implants and tactile aids, management of hearing-impaired children and adults, and more.
Call Number: RF291 .H36 2002 Ref
ISBN: 9780683307658
Publication Date: 2002
Netter's Atlas of Anatomy for Speech, Swallowing, and Hearing by David H. McFarland; Frank H. Netter With Dr. Frank Netter's world-class illustrations accompanying essential information on the anatomy and physiology relevant to speech, language, and hearing (SLH), Netter's Atlas of Anatomy for Speech, Swallowing, and Hearing is your essential SLH reference. Easily connect anatomy and physiology concepts to detailed illustrations with the atlas' "read-it, see-it" approach. Netter's provides a solid foundation for SLH with a basic overview of anatomical organization systems and focused discussions of the anatomical and functional bases of normal speech, swallowing and hearing. UNIQUE! Frank Netter's medical illustrations and straightforward descriptions clearly present the anatomy and physiology of speech, language, and hearing to help you easily build the foundation necessary to diagnose and treat disorders. UNIQUE! A balance of text and illustrations with text on the left hand page and the related image on the right provides both the visual and written information you need to know in a "read-it, see-it" format. Organized into in five parts (respiratory system, phonatory system, articulatory system, auditory system, and nervous system), this book is a perfect fit for class use mirroring the way the material is actually taught. System musculature summary tables for each section present vital information in a quick, easy, and consistent format for study and reference. UNIQUE! Evolve student resources include video clips of cadaver dissections, animations, an image collection, self-test questions and exercises to enhance your understanding of SLH anatomy and physiology.
Call Number: QM251 .M4413 2009 Ref
ISBN: 9780323056564
Publication Date: 2009

Need a Book?

If you need a book about speech and hearing sciences, search our online catalog.

Tip: Use "Subject" searching to find more relevant resources.

If you are browsing for a book, use the call numbers below as a guide.

CALL NUMBERS	SUBJECT
RF 110-320	Otology - Diseases of the ear
RC 346-429	Neurology - Diseases of the nervous system including speech disorders
HV 1551-3024	People with physical and mental disabilities, such as deafness and blindness
LC 4001-4806.5	Children and youth with physical and learning disabilities

Selected General Collection Books

Acoustics in Hearing, Speech and Language Sciences by Ian MacKay This comprehensive look at acoustics and the acoustics of speech gives readers a clear understanding of often challenging topics through examples and analogies from everyday life and general experiences.   KEY TOPICS: Fundamentals of sound, sound propagation, and the parameters of sound; complex waves and the notion of the Fourier Transform; signals and the conversion of analog to digital signals; the recording of sound in digital media; spectra, including the composition of sound itself and the graphical representation of its composition; decibels and rms; filters and filtering; resonance; the source-filter theory; consonants of American English; psychoacoustics, with particular attention to the nature of dB HL.   MARKET: Designed primarily for upper undergraduate or graduate students of audiology, speech-language pathology, linguistics, and cognitive science/psychology.
Call Number: QP460 .M35 2014 folio
ISBN: 9780132897082
Publication Date: 2013
A Guide to Clinical Assessment and Professional Report Writing in Speech-Language Pathology by Cyndi Stein-Rubin; Renee Fabus A GUIDE TO CLINICAL ASSESSMENT AND PROFESSIONAL REPORT WRITING IN SPEECH-LANGUAGE PATHOLOGY, 1E not only provides guidance for the often overwhelming process of assessing speech and language disorders but also offers robust diagnostic report writing tools in one user-friendly resource. Organized by disorder, this book is the only one to provide a sample report for each of the major communicative disorders discussed. It also includes a chapter devoted to basic report writing skills and grammar. The assessment aspects of the book offer an in-depth chapter on counseling, a detailed and comprehensive chapter on dysphasia for both pediatric and adult populations, and a clear and practical chapter on assessment of accent. Each chapter is written by experts in their area of communication disorders and provides the following information: background and characteristics of the disorder; parameters for assessment; pertinent interview questions; an inventory and explanation of relevant formal and informal assessment measures in narrative and table format; a section on differential diagnosis to assist in teasing out the specific problem; and a sample case history with assessment tools chosen for that vignette along with rationale for making such selections. All this information is woven into a sample diagnostic report and a similar assignment is provided for practice, making this an ideal resource for ESL learners as well as students preparing for the praxis. Every chapter includes a list of key vocabulary and a glossary to familiarize your students with the professional vernacular relevant for writing diagnostic reports.
Call Number: RC428.5 .S84 2012
ISBN: 9781435485327
Publication Date: 2011
Handbook of Acquired Communication Disorders in Childhood by Bruce E. Murdoch Provides comprehensive coverage of acquired motor speech and language disorders occurring in children in terms of their neuropathological basis, neurology, clinical symptomatology, prognosis, assessment, and treatment. The authors take a disease-specific approach, a comprehensive range of the childhood neurological conditions most commonly encountered clinically by speech-language pathologists covering traumatic brain injury, cerebrovascular accidents, childhood cancers (brain tumors and leukemia), infectious diseases, metabolic disorders, neural tube defects, anoxic conditions (e.g., immersion injury), and convulsive disorder. Also featured are full descriptions of the relevant assessment and treatment procedures currently recommended for use with each of these acquired childhood communication disorders, supported by numerous figures and graphs, case studies, and photographs of the various clinical conditions.
Call Number: RJ496.C67 M87 2011
ISBN: 9781597560542
Publication Date: 2011

eBook Collection

Click the icon below to search our
eBook Collection .

Selected Speech and Hearing Sciences E-Books

The Artificial Ear : Cochlear Implants and the Culture of Deafness by Stuart Blume When it was first developed, the cochlear implant was hailed as a'miracle cure'for deafness. That relatively few deaf adults seemed to want it was puzzling. The technology was then modified for use with deaf children, 90 percent of whom have hearing parents. Then, controversy struck as the Deaf community overwhelmingly protested the use of the device and procedure. For them, the cochlear implant was not viewed in the context of medical progress and advances in the physiology of hearing, but instead represented the historic oppression of deaf people and of sign languages.Part ethnography and part historical study, The Artificial Ear is based on interviews with researchers who were pivotal in the early development and implementation of the new technology. Through an analysis of the scientific and clinical literature, Stuart Blume reconstructs the history of artificial hearing from its conceptual origins in the 1930s, to the first attempt at cochlear implantation in Paris in the 1950s, and to the widespread clinical application of the'bionic ear'since the 1980s.
Call Number: RF305 .B58 2010 eb
Publication Date: 2010
Career As an Audiologist : Healthcare Professionals Helping People to Hear by Institute for Career Research
Publication Date: 2010
Dyslexia, Learning, and the Brain by Roderick Nicolson and Angela Fawcett A unique overview of research on dyslexia and an account of the underlying causes at cognitive, brain, and neural system levels that provides a framework for significant progress in the understanding of dyslexia and other related learning disabilities.Dyslexia research has made dramatic progress since the mid-1980s. Once discounted as a “middle-class myth,” dyslexia is now the subject of a complex—and confusing—body of theoretical and empirical research. In Dyslexia, Learning, and the Brain, leading dyslexia researchers Roderick Nicolson and Angela Fawcett provide a uniquely broad and coherent analysis of dyslexia theory. Unlike most dyslexia research, which addresses the question “what is the cause of the reading disability called dyslexia?” the authors'work has addressed the deeper question of “what is the cause of the learning disability that manifests as reading problems?” This perspective allows them to place dyslexia research within the much broader disciplines of cognitive psychology and cognitive neuroscience and has led to a rich framework, including two established leading theories, the automatization deficit account (1990) and the cerebellar deficit hypothesis (2001). Nicolson and Fawcett show that extensive evidence has accumulated to support these two theories and that they may be seen as subsuming the established phonological deficit account and sensory processing accounts. Moving to the explanatory level of neural systems, they argue that all these disorders reflect problems in some component of the procedural learning system, a multiregion system including major components of cortical and subcortical regions. The authors'answer to the fundamental question “what is dyslexia?” offers a challenge and motivation for research throughout the learning disabilities, laying the foundations for future progress.
Call Number: RC394.W6 N494 2008 eb
Publication Date: 2008

Instructional Resources Center

Books for Dyslexic Children

The Dog on the Log Chapter Book by Pamela Brookes The DOG ON A LOG Book series helps kids, including kids with dyslexia, learn to read. They are sound out books that start with just a few phonics rules. Each following Step of books adds a few more phonics rules and sight words. This gradual progression helps kids learn to read without feeling so overwhelmed. The word list below will help you decide where in the series your child should start. For added practice, free printable game boards, flashcards, handwriting sheets, and more can be downloaded from dogonalogbooks.com. The (purple) Let's GO! books have less text for new or less confident readers. The (red) chapter books are longer for more reading practice. Kids enjoy these stories that get more complex and longer as more phonics are added throughout the series. Books can be purchased individually or as collection volumes. This is an individual volume of Step 1 Chapter Book. Additional information on using this series is available in the e-book HOW TO USE DECODABLE BOOKS TO TEACH READING. It can also be read for free at dogonalogbooks.com/free. DOG ON A LOG Books follow a structured literacy/Orton Gillingham phonics progression. DOG ON A LOG "What Step Should We Start With?" Word List Have your child read the following words. If they can't read every word in a Step, that is probably the step they should start with. For some kids, you may want to start at an earlier Step so they can build confidence in their reading ability. Step 1 fin, mash, sock, sub, cat, that, Dan's Step 2 less, bats, tell, mall, chips, whiff, falls Step 3 bangs, dank, honk, pings, chunk, sink, gong, rungs Step 4 silk, fluff, smash, krill, drop, slim, whisk Step 5 hunch, crate, rake, tote, inch, mote, lime Step 6 child, molts, fold, hind, jolt, post, colds Step 7 strive, scrape, splint, twists, crunch, prints, blend Step 8 finish, denim, within, bathtub, sunset, medic, habit Step 9 hundred, goldfinch, free, wheat, inhale, play, Joe Step 10 be, remake, spry, repeat, silo, sometime, pinwheel Many early reader books or leveled books are written so they cannot be sounded out. Kids often struggle and grow frustrated when they can't sound out the words. However, kids who have been taught the phonics in DOG ON A LOG Books can be proud when they are able to sound out and read almost every word. Paper books have black and white images. The books are optimized for learners with dyslexia. They have cream colored paper and large Verdana font. Research has shown Verdana is one of the most dyslexia-friendly fonts. More DOG ON A LOG Books: DOG ON A LOG Pup Books ---Before the Squiggle Code (Pre-Reading Skills) ---The Squiggle Code (Learning Letters and Words) ---Kids' Squiggles (First Stories) DOG ON A LOG Parent and Teacher Guides ---Teaching a Struggling Reader: One Mom's Experience with Dyslexia ---How to Use Decodable Books to Teach Reading You can read the complete DOG ON A LOG Phonics Progression (Scope and Sequence) at www (dot) dogonalogbooks.com/about-dog-on-a-log-books/phonics-progression/ Youi can print a copy of the Quick Assessment Tool ("What Step Should We Start With?" Word List) at www (dot) dogonalogbooks.com/how-to-use/assessment-tool/ WATCH FOR MORE STEPS AND BOOKS COMING SOON
Call Number: 372.465 B872d Juv
ISBN: 9781949471939
Publication Date: 2020
Back to Front and Upside Down by Claire Alexander (Illustrator) It's the principal Mr. Slipper's birthday, and while the rest of the class gets busy writing cards for the occasion, Stan becomes frustrated when his letters come out all in a muddle. Stan is afraid to ask for help, until a friend assures him that nobody's good at everything. And after lots and lots of practice, Stan's letters come out the right way round and the right way up. This delightful book deals with a common childhood frustration and will remind readers that practice pays off and that everyone has to ask for help sometimes. Watch the trailer:
Call Number: 823 A375b Juv
ISBN: 9780802854148
Publication Date: 2012
The Alphabet War by Diane Burton Robb; Gail Piazza (Illustrator) When Adam started kindergarten, the teacher wanted him to learn about letters. But "p" looked like "q," and "b" looked like "d." Adam would rather color or mold clay. In first grade, his teacher wanted him to put the letters into words so he could read. That was the beginning of the Alphabet War. "Was" looked like "saw," and "there" looked like "then." Almost everyone else in his class was learning to read, but Adam was fighting a war against letters. In second grade, he had to learn to spell, which was also impossible. Now he was so frustrated he got into trouble and had to go to the principal's office. At last, in third grade, he got the right kind of help. Slowly he began to do better. During fourth grade, he learned that he could excel in other things. That gave him the confidence to take chances with reading. One day he found himself reading a book all by himself!
Call Number: 813 R631a Juv
ISBN: 9780807503027
Publication Date: 2004