Click the links below to see books in the DSU library on these topics.
African American National Biography Vols 1-12
Encyclopedia of African American History, 1619-1895 by 
Encyclopedia of African American History, 1896 to the Present by 
The African American Almanac 11th Edition by 
The Mississippi Encyclopedia by County and City Data Book [HA 202 .A36 Year Ref] – Compiled from several federal agencies, this source contains county and city-level statistics on a number of subject areas. Contains recent data from Census 2000 and the 1997 Economic Census. Also online at http://www.census.gov/prod/www/ccdb.htm
Datapedia of the United States: 1790-2005 [HA202 .K87 2001 Ref] – Offers broad overview of statistics, combining parts of the Historical Statistics of the United States with contemporary data from Statistical Abstracts.
Historical Statistics of the United States: Earliest Times to the Present [HA202 .H57 Ref, 5 volumes] – Contains statistics in areas of labor, population, economy, society, and agriculture. An annotated bibliography of all consulted sources is at the beginning of each section. The Reference Department also holds the bicentennial edition of this work.
Statistical Abstracts of the United States [HA202 .U5 1964, 71, 76-present Ref] – First place to look for statistics. Published annually by the Census Bureau, Statistical Abstracts contains over 1500 tables of statistics gathered from all agencies and other organizations. Source information is provided at the bottom of each table for further study. Available online at http://www.census.gov/prod/www/statistical_abstract.html.
The call numbers for African American history and Africa history are listed below. Specific subjects such as African art or literature are normally shelved with other books on art or literature. Please consult the online catalog when looking for a book on a specific topic or person.
Tip: Use "Subject" searching to find more relevant resources.
If you are browsing the library shelves for a book, use the call numbers below as a guide.
| DT1 - DT3415 History of Africa | E 660-738 Late Nineteenth Century |
|
E 11-143 |
E 740-837 Twentieth Century |
|
E 75-99 North American Indians |
E 784-805 The Twenties (Harding-Coolidge Era) |
|
E 101-135 Discovery of |
E 838-887 Later Twentieth Century, 1961- |
| E184.5 - E185.98 African Americans | F 1-975 |
|
E 151-887 |
F 336-350 |
|
E 300-453 Revolution to Civil War |
|
|
E 456-655 Civil War Period, 1861-1865 |
Click the link below to understand how to better search the Library's catalog.
Search our catalog here or check out these books.
Hover over item title to display the book description.
Let the People Decide by 
American Congo by 
Edward Bouchet by American National Biography [CT213 .A68 1999 Ref, 24 volumes, Index Table 2] – Profiles 17,500 historical figures from the earliest recorded European explorations up to the recent past.
The National Cyclopedia of American Biography (Permanent Series) [E 176 .N28 Ref] – Extensive biographies of deceased Americans from all walks of life: businessmen, politicians, educators, writers, etc. Illustrations and signatures accompany most entries. One of the largest collections of biographies available in Roberts-LaForge Library.
AHA Guide to Historical Literature [Z 6201 .A55 1995 2 vols. Ref] – Comprehensive annotated bibliography of all pertinent books and articles on every conceivable field of history. Sections 39-44 focus on
Combined Retrospective Index to Book Reviews in Scholarly Journals 1886-1974 [Index Table 6] – Arranged alphabetically by author. Title volumes are available as well.
Combined Retrospective Index to Journals in History 1838-1974 [Index Counter] – Indexes nearly 1,000 journals. Each major subject is divided into subtopics. Articles under each subtopic are arranged by keyword. Great for finding older articles not available through the databases.
Harvard Guide to American History [Z 1236 .F77 1974 2 vols. Ref] – A standard in the field, this exhaustive guide provides annotations for sources arranged in 56 categories.
Humanities Index (1974-1997) – Index of articles, interviews, bibliographies, and book reviews on all areas of the humanities including music, art, philosophy, and history.
Politics in the New South by 
Religion and Suicide in the African-American Community by 
Making a Way Out of No Way by 
Apartheid No More by Click the icon below to start your search.
A Chance for Change by
In this innovative study, Crystal Sanders explores how working-class black women, in collaboration with the federal government, created the Child Development Group of Mississippi (CDGM) in 1965, a Head Start program that not only gave poor black children access to early childhood education but also provided black women with greater opportunities for political activism during a crucial time in the unfolding of the civil rights movement. Women who had previously worked as domestics and sharecroppers secured jobs through CDGM as teachers and support staff and earned higher wages. The availability of jobs independent of the local white power structure afforded these women the freedom to vote in elections and petition officials without fear of reprisal. But CDGM's success antagonized segregationists at both the local and state levels who eventually defunded it. Tracing the stories of the more than 2,500 women who staffed Mississippi's CDGM preschool centers, Sanders's book remembers women who went beyond teaching children their shapes and colors to challenge the state's closed political system and white supremacist ideology and offers a profound example for future community organizing in the South.
Glory Be by 
Black Life in Mississippi by 
Black Cloud, White Cloud by 
Mississippi Freedom Summer by 
I Don't Like the Blues by 