Physical Sciences: Books

• DSU Library Home
• Hours
• Directory

Click the icons below to read these ebooks on physical science topics.

Astronomy: A Physical Perspective (Published in 2003) - This e-book discusses the Solar System, the Milky Way galaxy, and other astronomical topics.

Chemistry Basic Elements (Published in 2009) - This e-book discusses various types of chemistry, such as bioinorganic chemistry, and other chemistry-related topics.

Encyclopedia of Physical Science (Published in 2010) - This e-book provides thorough articles for many science topics, such as acceleration and acid rain.

If you need a book about one of the physical sciences, search our online catalog.

Tip: Use "Subject" searching to find more relevant resources. 

If you are browsing for a book, use the call numbers below as a guide.  

Astronomy

Chemistry

Physics

Click the link below to understand how to better search the Library's catalog. 

Astronomy

Alpha and Omega: The Search for the Beginning and End of the Universe [QB 981 .S446 2003] - The primary subjects of this book are astronomy and cosmology. More specific topics include cosmological revolutions, the Big Bang, and other topics.

Deep Sky Objects: The Best and Brightest from Four Decades of Comet Chasing [QB 64 .L478 2005] - This book provides information about stars, dust and gas clouds, nebulae, galaxies, and other topics.

The Edge of Infinity: Supermassive Black Holes in the Universe [QB 843 .B55 M455 2003] - This book discusses various aspects of supermassive black holes, such as their formation.

The Stars: A New Way to See Them [QB 63 .R4 2008 folio] - This book provides information about stars and constellations. Charts are included.

Chemistry

Basic Organic Chemistry for the Life Sciences [QD 251.3 .V36 2014] - This book discusses organic chemistry related topics, some of which include organic molecules, alkanes, and stereochemistry.

Computational Organic Chemistry [QD 255.5 .M35 B33 2014] - In this book, the topics of organic chemistry and mathematical models are discussed.

The Handy Chemistry Answer Book [QD 39.2 .S75 2014] - This book provides answers to over 900 chemistry-related questions. It covers many chemistry topics.

What is Chemistry? [QD 37 .A85 2013] - This book discusses the basics of chemistry, achievements in chemistry, and other topics.

Physics

Computational Physics: Simulation of Classical and Quantum Systems [QC 20 .S34 2013] - This book discusses mathematical physics and physics-related data processing.

Einstein: His Life and Universe [QC 16 .E5 I76 2007] - This biographical book about Albert Einstein discusses his life and achievements.

The Grand Design [QC 794.6 .G7 H385 2010] - This book, which is authored by Stephen Hawking, discusses physics-related theories and provides answers to basic questions such as "Why is there something rather than nothing?"

Astronomy

• A Dictionary of Astronomy [QB 14 .D52 2003 Ref] - brief definitions of thousands of astronomical terms are included in this dictionary.
• Encyclopedia of Space and Astronomy [QB 136 .A55 2006 Ref] – covers the key concepts in the “relationship between modern astronomy and space technology.”
• Encyclopedia of the Solar System [QB 501 .E53 1999 Ref] – regarded as a complete reference guide to the subject, this work contains scholarly articles and overviews of each topic. The intended readership is both researchers and the amateur.
• History of Astronomy: An Encyclopedia [QB 15 .H624 1997 Ref] – supplies and summarizes the historical research and studies in the field of astronomy. Bibliographies for further study are included.

Chemistry

• The Basics of Chemistry [QD 33.2 .M94 2003 Ref] – aimed at the novice, this work introduces basic chemistry concepts to first-year chemistry students.
• Chemistry: Foundations and Applications [QD 4 .C48 2004 Ref, 4 volumes] – thorough entries on elements, “chemical ideas and concepts,” and even chemist biographies. For further study, bibliographies are included after each entry.
• CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics [QD 65 .H3 2020-2021 Ready Ref] – popular reference source that includes definitions, tables, diagrams, and charts of valuable chemical information. The most recent edition is shelved in Ready Reference.
• Encyclopedia of Inorganic Chemistry [QD 148 .E53 2005 Ref, 10 volumes] – Voluminous A-Z treatment of all topics connected to inorganic chemistry.
• How to Find Chemical Information: A Guide for Practicing Chemists, Educators, and Students [QD 8.5 .M34 1998 Ref] – an informative guide on the search process and tools used to find chemical information. Topics include search strategy, the Internet, online databases, indexes, and more.
• McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science and Technology [Q 121 .M3 2007 Ref, 20 volumes] – a staple of science collections, this set includes over 7,000 entries. Bibliographies are included for each entry.
• Oxford Dictionary of Chemistry [QD 5 .D4985 2020 Ref] - provides definitions for many chemistry-related terms. Some illustrations are included.
• Van Nostrand’s Encyclopedia of Chemistry [QD 4 .V36 2005 Ref] – in its 5^th edition, this popular title provides an alphabetical list of over 2,000 chemistry topics. Additional readings are available for each entry.

Physics

• A to Z of Physicists [QC 15 .L45 2003 Ref] – brief biographies on noted physicists. Bibliographies are included for further study.
• The Basics of Physics [QC 21.3 .M94 2006 Ref] – covers general concepts in physics. This work also includes conversion tables, a glossary, and a bibliography.
• Dictionary of Geophysics, Astrophysics, and Astronomy [QB 14 .D53 2001 Ref] – dictionary of over 3,500 terms.
• Encyclopedia of Physics [QC 5 .R596 2004 Ref] – an introduction to physics, this volume includes definitions, formulas, biographies, and illustrations.
• Encyclopedia of Scientific Units, Weights and Measures [QC 94 .C295 2003 Ref] – includes unit definitions and conversion factors.
• How Things Work: The Physics of Everyday Life [QC 21.2 .B59 1997 Ref] – aimed at undergraduates, this work encourages students to see the world as less mysterious and more as a predictable series of causes and effects.  
• MacMillan Encyclopedia of Physics [QC 5 .M15 1996 Ref, 4 volumes] – wide range of signed articles intended for a wide readership. Bibliographies and cross references are given after each entry.
• Oxford Dictionary of Physics [QC 5 .C56 2019 Ref] - provides definitions for many physics-related terms. Some illustrations are included.

Click the icon below to search our E-Book Collection.