To find true news stories, you can use databases to find them. Below is a list of EBSCOhost databases that can be helpful to you.
Academic Search Premier - This is an interdisciplinary database in which you can access citations to newspaper articles from various newspapers. Some of those newspapers include The New York Times, The Christian Science Monitor, and The Wall Street Journal. Some news articles are available in full text in Academic Search Premier.
MasterFILE Premier - This is also an interdisciplinary database in which citations to newspaper articles can be found. Similar to Academic Search Premier, the full text of some news articles are available in this database.
Newspaper Source - This is the primary database to use for finding newspaper articles online. According to the database description, Newspaper Source provides "cover-to-cover full text for more than 40 (U.S.) and international newspapers." This database also includes full text articles from almost 400 regional newspapers in the U.S. and the full text of some television and radio news transcripts.
Regional Business News - In this database, you can find news on business-related topics. You can find newspaper articles and television and radio transcripts in Regional Business News. Some of those articles and transcripts are available in full text in the database.
Note: Scroll down to see lists of newspaper and news media websites.
To find local or state news, visit one of these newspaper websites:
Clarion Ledger - Located in Jackson, MS; You might have to subscribe to view the full text of news articles, but you can view the titles of news articles for free on the website.
Delta Democrat Times - Located in Greenville, MS; You will have to subscribe to view the full text of news articles, but you can view the following information on the website for free: a news article's title, author/s, publication date, and the first sentence or first two sentences of the article.
Mississippi Today - On this website, you can access news stories about events and issues in Mississippi. Categories of news stories include politics, health, education, and other categories. You can access the full text of news articles on this website.
To find national news or news for other areas of the U.S., visit one of these newspaper websites listed below. However, some of the websites may require a subscription to view or to continue viewing the full text of articles.
Boston Globe - You can view the titles of news articles and access the full text of a few news articles for free on this web site. After viewing a few news articles, however, you would have to subscribe to the Boston Globe to view the full text of more news articles on this site.
Chicago Tribune - You can access the titles of news articles and the full text of a few articles before you are prompted to subscribe for access to more full text news articles.
Los Angeles Times - Similar to the Boston Globe and the Chicago Tribune, you can view the titles of news articles and a the full text of a few news articles. Afterward, you would be informed that you need to subscribe to view more full text articles.
New York Times - This is another newspaper website on which you can view the titles of articles and a few news articles for free, but you'll have to subscribe to continue viewing full text articles after you reach the limit.
USA Today - On this website, you can access the full text of several news articles for free. However, you might be prompted to subscribe at some point.
Wall Street Journal - You can view the titles of news articles for free on this website, but you will have to subscribe in order to view the full text of any news articles on this website.
Washington Post - You can view the titles of news articles and the full text of a few news articles for free. After a few articles, however, you will have to subscribe if you want to continue viewing the full text of news articles.
You can also find news stories on news media websites. Some news media websites are listed below.
ABC News - News stories and videos are available on this site. You can also access episodes of ABC shows, such as Good Morning America on this site.
AP News - This is the website of the Associated Press. You can access news articles and videos here.
CBS News - On this website, you can view news stories, videos, and episodes of CBS news programs, such as CBS Evening News.
NBC News - On this site, you have access to news stories, links to episodes of NBC news programs, such as NBC Nightly News, and a link to the CNBC website.
Reuters - According to the website, Reuters is "the world's largest international, multimedia news provider reaching more than one billion people every day." On this website, you can access news articles, videos, and photos.
UPI - This is the website of United Press International, Inc. On this website, you can access U.S. and world news on current issues and events.