Nursing: Home

              Laurie A. Muffley

Reference and Instructional Librarian

Email:  lmuffley@deltastate.edu

Office Location: Roberts LaForge Library, Room 160

Office Phone: 662-846-4455

*** A Library Liaison provides research assistance and educational orientations/classes to specific academic departments. 

Nursing Students: Please contact Asst. Prof. Muffley for research help. 

Nursing Faculty: Please contact Asst. Prof. Muffley to schedule basic library orientations or a topical research class, either in-person or by Zoom. (Librarian Zoom recordings can be placed in Canvas courses.) 

Request Interlibrary Loan

 ILL service attempts to borrow needed materials that the Roberts-LaForge Library does not own. Local students, faculty, and staff must come to the library to check out or make copies of materials that we do own. More information on interlibrary loan and filling out the form are available on the website.

Library Instruction and Student Consultation Requests

Library instruction sessions are designed to teach students how to effectively search the library catalog and/or electronic databases.  Students may schedule a one-on-one session with a librarian by filling out a consultation form.   Additional information on student resources is available on the website. Librarians are also available for consultation via email at refdesk@deltastate.edu or by phone (662) 846-4431.

Off-Campus Access

The way that DSU students log into databases from off campus has recently changed. Instead of logging in with your 900 number and six-digit date of birth, you will log in with your DSU email username and password. Follow these steps:

1. Go to the library web site at https://www.deltastate.edu/library
2. If you want to use a database to find journal articles, click the “Databases” tab, which is one of the five tabs below the “Delta State University Library Services” heading.
3. Now you should see the “Quick jump to a database” heading. Below that heading is the drop down list of the DSU Library’s databases. Click the list to see the databases. 
4. If you are off campus, you will now be on the Delta State University login page. On this page, you will log in with the username and password of your DSU email account (Okramail account). After that, you might need to answer one more question. The additional step is for security purposes. The question could be something like “In what city were you born?”

Library Catalog

Click the Library Catalog link above to find resources available in the library. 

Library Databases

Click the Library Databases link above to find journal articles available through our databases. 

E-Books Collection

Click the E-Books Collection link above to find e-Books available through the EBSCO eBooks Collection.

Library Guides

The library guides were created by the librarians to assist you with research tips using some of the selected resources. Access the library guides and choose the guide that best suits your needs.

Citation Guidelines
This guide provides videos, websites, books, and more resources on citation guidelines on APA,  MLA, Chicago (CMS), Turabian, and ACS. Click the link to access these resources.

Click the link below to learn how to better search EBSCOhost databases. 

Guide to Using EBSCOhost

• Zotero

Zotero is a free personal resource(s) management system that does many things. In particular, it is very good for group projects & annotated bibliographies. However, this program needs to be downloaded & used on personal devices, not the library computers. Work in Zotero will not be saved to the library computers.

Technology/connection problems?  Call the HELP DESK at (662) 846-4444.