Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Nursing: Articles/Journals

Print Journals

Not all of the journals Delta State subscribes to are available online, full-text through our databases.

If the note in the database record indicates that the library subscribes to the print version of the journal, it can be accessed in the Serials Department on the second floor of the library. 

Listed below are several examples of journals available in print only.

For a full list click on  Print Journals by Subject - Nursing.

 

 

Nursing & Allied Health Databases

Click the links below to search these selected databases.

Medical, Nursing and Allied Health Databases

CINAHL - Cumulative Index for Nursing and Allied Health Literature

Provides access to virtually all English-language nursing journals, publications from the American Nurses Association and the National League for Nursing, as well as journals from allied health disciplines.

MEDLINE

The EBSCOhost platform for the National Library of Medicine's bibliographic database PubMed. In addition to the medical and physiology journals indexed, MEDLINE and PubMed also include are such topics as microbiology, delivery of health care, nutrition, pharmacology, and environmental health.

Alt Health Watch

Covers literature dealing with alternative paths to health and well-being. Journal articles, pamphlets, booklets, and various other documents and reports are included.

Health Source: Nursing / Academic Edition

A truncated version of the CINAHL database offered through Mississippi's MAGNOLIA database consortium. Contact the library on how to access Health Source at home. If DSU's website is unavailable, Health Source provides an excellent substitute for CINAHL.

Mental Health Databases

PsycINFO

Provides indexing and abstracts of more than two million articles in 1,500 journals from over 50 countries. This database, compiled by the American Psychological Association, also includes abstracts for dissertations, book, and book chapters ranging in date from 1887 to the present.

Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection

Provides full-text of more than 550 journal titles that are indexed in the PsycINFO database.

Mental Measurements Yearbook (1989 - present)

Provides information and reviews of more than 2,000 educational, psychological, aptitude, and intelligence tests.

Consumer Health Databases

Consumer Health Complete

Provides full-text access to 176 health reference books and encyclopedias, more than 4,000 full-text evidence-based health reports, over 5,000 reports about Clinical Pharmacology. The database also contains hundreds of medical images and diagrams and 1,200 physician-generated videos.

MedlinePlus - English and Spanish

Medical information aimed at consumers provided in both English and Spanish. Both sites provide interactive tutorials on numerous medical subjects with accommodations for low vision and low literacy. Additionally, these sites provide links to government and non-profit organizations on a wide variety of diseases and conditions. Both sites also include a medical encyclopedia and a medical dictionary.

Health Systems / Health Care Management Databases

Business Source Complete

Provides journal articles about hospitals, health care, medical care delivery, and health services administration.

JSTOR

Provides journal articles on health policy, health services, and public health.

For best results, start with Advanced Search, limit your results to "Articles" and select the category of journals that best fit your subject interest.

Electronic Journals

Some journals are available free online.

To check for titles and the issues available go to E-Journals and search by title or subject.

Evidence-Based Nursing: What's New?

Loading ...