Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Nursing: Selected Websites

In the News

Loading ...

Nursing History

The ANA Hall of Fame honors nurses whose dedication and achievements have significantly impacted the nursing profession. Names are listed in alphabetical order and link to brief biographies.


The American Association for the History of Nursing (AAHN), a professional organization that publishes the annual Nursing History Review journal. Provides several sources for African American nursing history.

 

 Created by Jodi Kosti, a librarian at Virginia Commonwealth University. Lists many general online resources including bibliographies and guides for the study of African American nursing.

Nursing Research

News, research programs, links to other nursing organizations and publications of the institute. Additionally, visit the National Institute of Health's page. NIH's site includes numerous helpful resources for anyone in a medical-related field.

United States and International Health Statistics

 

Directory of health and medical-related web sites that provide information and health statistics about the United States and foreign countries.

Web site for the National Center for Health Statistics, the federal agency responsible for the collection, analysis, and dissemination of health statistics. Offers a wide variety of statistical information on vital events as well as information on health status, lifestyle and exposure to unhealthy influences, the onset of diagnosis of illness and disability, and the use of health care. Marriage and divorce statistics are found here as well.

 

With CDC WONDER you can access statistical research data published by CDC, as well as reference materials, reports and guidelines on health-related topics and query numeric data sets on CDC's computers, via "fill-in-the blank" web pages. The data is ready for use in many common desktop applications. All of these operations are menu-driven, and require no special computer expertise.

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC)

National Library of Medicine

Consumer Health Information

Consumer health information in English and Spanish. Includes interactive tutorials on numerous medical subjects with accommodations for low vision and low literacy. A medical encyclopedia and a medical dictionary are also included on both sites.

 

 

Public Health Nursing

 A collaboration of U. S. government agencies, public health organization and health sciences libraries which provide timely, convenient access to selected public health resources on the web.

The national organization supporting local city and county health departments.

 The Association of Public Health Nurses focus on the prevention of illness, injury or disability, the promotion of health and the maintenance of health in city, county and state populations.

Google Scholar

Google Scholar Search