Career Development: General Resources

• Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS) Career Information – Simple career guide for K-12 students.
• BLS Databases, Tables, and Calculators – Rich source of labor statistics and projections.
• Homefair – This site contains a wealth of information on the topic of moving.  It includes cost of living comparison, moving calculator, as well as information on different communities.
• Labor Statistics – Provides statistics on wages, employment, and occupations.
• My Next Move - "Interactive tool for job seeker and students to learn more about their career options."
• Monthly Labor Review: The Editors Desk – Keep up with the job market with this daily synopsis of labor issues.
• Occupational Employment Statistics - "Produces employment and wage estimates annually for over 800 occupations." OES provides access to over 4,800 maps and up to 6,000 customizable charts.
• Occupational Outlook Handbook – Probably the best single source for occupational information and data, this guide, put together by the U.S. Department of Labor, gives basic career information, salary ranges, prospects for future, training, and other related information for over 340 occupations. Start your research on careers here!
• Salary.com – Includes several helpful salary tools and calculators. While there are plenty of sources for official data, this site provides quick access to salary comparisons, cost-of-living calculators, and even a podcast.
• ZipRecruiter Salaries - ZipRecruiter works directly with businesses to provide accurate and reliable salary data.

• Business Source Complete [EBSCOhost] – Extensive company profiles along with indexing and abstracting of 1300 journals. (DSU Only)
• Vocational and Career Collection [EBSCOhost] – Find career information using over 340 full-text periodicals. (DSU Only)

• Encyclopedia of Careers and Vocational Guidance [HF 5381 .Z52 2011 Ref] – 4-volume encyclopedia, gives descriptions of various jobs. The first volume contains a career guidance section which covers the entire job-finding process.
• Encyclopedia of Career Development [HF5381 .E5165 2006 Ref] - This encyclopedia provides thorough entries on various career-related topics, such as “career strategy” and “job search.”
• Get Hired in a Tough Market: Insider Secrets to Find and Land the Job You Need Now [HF5382.7 .D4 2010 eb]* - Provides information on developing your job search plan.
• What Color is Your Parachute? [HF 5382.7 .B6 2007] – Overall perfect "self-help" source for job hunting. While this title doesn't discuss specific occupations, it will help you discover your goals, interests, and aptitudes. Provides practical ways to prepare you for the working world. Online supplement at http://www.jobhuntersbible.com.

* "eb" refers to electronic books which are DSU only.